Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Got a union job again...

I'm a third year apprentice in Ohio. I was laid off and found a residential job with a company that had their own special agreement with the local. It paid much less and took me 2 years to make less money than a third year tech and less hours. I put in my notice once I found a job with a non-union commercial shop that paid very competitive to the local. A month later a union shop called me. I thought they reviewed my resume that I sent to them about a year ago or perhaps the local referred them to me. NO! They found me on Monster.com! They called the local and asked for a mid-level apprentice and the local didn't refer me, even though I was current on my dues! GOOD JOB local 1XX! Way to keep guys in the local. I know you're always here for me... when I have dues in my hand. BTW... I got the job. What's up with these guys???

In the union, unless you are tight with the mucky mucks, they don't give a crap about you. They only call when it's time to vote, or hit you up to picket.

All you are is a paycheck for them to send to the nearest democrat campaign.

My suggestion... if you're looking for a job in this field, get on Monster and keep your resume up to date. It's the second job I've got because of my resume on there.

congrats

yay! more $$$ moolah bucks clams dollar bones greenbacks quids or whatever else you call them. congrats. stay cool. we're roasting here in canada. it hit 100F two days ago.
    Parts Changer Extraordinaire
    ------------------------------------------------------
    Have tools and gauges, will travel.

RIDGID|YELLOW JACKET|UEI|TESTO|STANLEY|CPS|VETO| KLEIN|MILWAUKEE|MASTERCRAFT|

Quote Originally Posted by ChrisTechMech View Post