Emerson/CPC E2 Controller

Good evening. This site might be the best thing that could have happened to me. Glad I found it. An electrician by trade, I have joined a rapidly growing convenience retailer's facilities department whose buildings are a hot mess as far as HVAC and refrigeration. As part of the "new regime" I have to make recommendations get this under control.

Why can't I find a contractor that seems even somewhat well versed with an Emerson/CPC Einstein 2 (E2) Controller? Is this thing that complicated, uncommon, a piece of junk? Should I vet something new? I hear, "Its an Emerson issue" far more than I should...or do I?

I like the idea of a more complete building controller--lighting controls, flex combiners. Hell, I can wire this E2 to a carwash and pull data on gantry function, fan speed, you name it--but if my HVAC guys can't work with it at 11 PM on Saturday night, why should I have it? (Although somebody knows how to delete and/or bypass applications...and it isn't me.)

We've dropped several contractors--good sized outfits with some hard workers--because they are helpless with this controller. The problems are mainly with service, new builds usually go fine.

Any advice would be appreciated. Thank you.

Quote Originally Posted by swhatIdo View Post
    Good evening. This site might be the best thing that could have happened to me. Glad I found it. An electrician by trade, I have joined a rapidly growing convenience retailer's facilities department whose buildings are a hot mess as far as HVAC and refrigeration. As part of the "new regime" I have to make recommendations get this under control.

Why can't I find a contractor that seems even somewhat well versed with an Emerson/CPC Einstein 2 (E2) Controller? Is this thing that complicated, uncommon, a piece of junk? Should I vet something new? I hear, "Its an Emerson issue" far more than I should...or do I?