Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
Results 27 to 39 of 51
  1. #27
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Lancaster PA
    Posts
    66,833
    I'd probably install a schrader fitting just before the evap to make sure it was the evap coil or manifold header that was restricted, and no the condenser coil.
    Contractor locator map

    How-to-apply-for-Professional

    How many times must one fix something before it is fixed?

  2. #28
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Paper Street Soap Company
    Posts
    2,298
    Quote Originally Posted by WorkHardThenDie View Post
    thanks for the quick replies..
    NO thanks for calling me stupid.. im not.
    the 2nd circut won't run long enough for me to see any icing..
    thats why i thinks its just the compressor because that dead of a restriction is pretty far fetched.
    i just don't wanna start cutting a brandnew rooftop apart..

    im sorry for the jumbled explaination.. i was posting from my fone while my co-worker was driving.

    what happens is- the suction drops , but not as fast as the head pressure goes up. i mean 10 seconds .. and the hp switch makes contactor bounce .. therefore breaker trips.
    when i called building manager today .. he said the people in the office heard a bang the first time this happened.. the day i went there first and took the compressor out of the circut.
    i couldn't get there untill today because i would have to shut the unit down and i didn't want to do it with people in the building because 1st stage works great.
    i dont understand what you mean by pressure taps.. there are schraders in discharge-liquid- and suction.
    but like i said , it doesn't run long enough to do that kind of test .. and im not jumping out the hp switch because it shoots up to 650 and it would be dangerous.
    im sure it really is compressor ,but the cost to everyone involved is making my confidence balk.
    i dont want to replace a compressor or coil and still be wrong.
    im just looking for some input.. not someone to solve the problem for me.
    Sorry man.Wasnt calling you stupid . I typed that on my andro and meant to type " stumped " not stuped.

  3. #29
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Paper Street Soap Company
    Posts
    2,298
    Quote Originally Posted by WorkHardThenDie View Post
    so your saying namplate means nothing?
    how would normal symptoms of overcharge not apply?
    like i said .. LITERALLY 10 sec. or even less and the compressor goes off on high pressure .. and its seem to equalize quite quickly after power is disconnected. so a clog seems too far fetched and overcharge seems that way also ..
    Im not saying its overcharged but it sure sounds like a overcharged micro channel.

    Had a lennox a week ago do the exact same thing. Trip almost instantly on HP becausebI fot distracted while adding 410.

    It doesnt sound like a compressor issue. It can pump to over 600 psi.

    Starting off with a partial charge is a good idea.

  4. #30
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Dallas ,Texas
    Posts
    3,670
    Quote Originally Posted by beenthere View Post
    I'd probably install a schrader fitting just before the evap to make sure it was the evap coil or manifold header that was restricted, and no the condenser coil.
    He says he has a liquid line port and a new drier should be good to go.
    UA 100

    It takes three people to do anything around here. Two do the work, one explains to the crowd of people who showed up when they seen smoke and flames.

  5. #31
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    jersey
    Posts
    89
    SIX.. are you saying that the 410a that came with unit was too much?
    circut 2 is on plate for 7lb
    i pulled out total 6.10...
    replaced lldryer .. blew nitro... vacuumed 500. microns...
    charged at plate...it was exact same situation.
    what exactly was the charted you pulled out.?

  6. #32
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    jersey
    Posts
    89
    can i ask for anyone to help me with the parts manifest for this unit ..
    i am having trouble finding it on the trane website..
    ycd240f3haaa

    i prefer not to give serial.
    and no .. i didn't steal it. haha

    i cant give this situation a rest..
    f@#$ing spending my sunday basically still working , trying to find anything thats gonna help
    thanks.

  7. #33
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Dallas ,Texas
    Posts
    3,670
    Quote Originally Posted by WorkHardThenDie View Post
    can i ask for anyone to help me with the parts manifest for this unit ..
    i am having trouble finding it on the trane website..
    ycd240f3haaa

    i prefer not to give serial.
    and no .. i didn't steal it. haha

    i cant give this situation a rest..
    f@#$ing spending my sunday basically still working , trying to find anything thats gonna help
    thanks.
    Are you saying you need parts for this unit?
    UA 100

    It takes three people to do anything around here. Two do the work, one explains to the crowd of people who showed up when they seen smoke and flames.

  8. #34
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    jersey
    Posts
    89
    don't know yet ..
    i was hoping to find some kind of breakaway diagram.
    the tech from trane said that the orifice's are in the evap. and that there is no other metering device..
    i just wanna see for myself ..

  9. #35
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Dallas ,Texas
    Posts
    3,670
    Quote Originally Posted by WorkHardThenDie View Post
    don't know yet ..
    i was hoping to find some kind of breakaway diagram.
    the tech from trane said that the orifice's are in the evap. and that there is no other metering device..
    i just wanna see for myself ..
    Google "YCD metering devices".
    UA 100

    It takes three people to do anything around here. Two do the work, one explains to the crowd of people who showed up when they seen smoke and flames.

  10. #36
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Chicago area
    Posts
    1,439
    Carrier had a similar problem. They had issues with driers clogging on 410 systems, luckily they were using standard coils.

    You probably have a case of poor workmanship at the factory. The system may have been open for a while during assy.

    The poe oil probably coagulated and is blocking the condenser.

    The only way for pressure to climb that fast is from a discharge blockage.

    If you have a port on the liquid line and one on the discharge, I would be looking at the pressure difference between the two. They should be within 10 psi from one another.

    If there is no liquid port, I'd add one.

    My hunch says you will be replacing the condenser coil.

  11. #37
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    4,248
    Quote Originally Posted by WorkHardThenDie View Post
    can i ask for anyone to help me with the parts manifest for this unit ..
    i am having trouble finding it on the trane website..
    ycd240f3haaa

    i prefer not to give serial.
    and no .. i didn't steal it. haha

    i cant give this situation a rest..
    f@#$ing spending my sunday basically still working , trying to find anything thats gonna help
    thanks.
    Here ya go
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Make your expertise uniquely valuable.

    Make your influence uniquely far-reaching.

  12. #38
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    jersey
    Posts
    89
    thank you veryvery much jim..
    i owe you a beer

  13. #39
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Paper Street Soap Company
    Posts
    2,298
    Quote Originally Posted by WorkHardThenDie View Post
    SIX.. are you saying that the 410a that came with unit was too much?
    circut 2 is on plate for 7lb
    i pulled out total 6.10...
    replaced lldryer .. blew nitro... vacuumed 500. microns...
    charged at plate...it was exact same situation.
    what exactly was the charted you pulled out.?

    No. If its got a micro channel and orifices it wouldn't take much to overcharge.

    But since you weighed everything back in then this doesn't sound like a overcharged unit.

    I would be welding in taps on the liquid line if it doesn't already have them. That way you can confirm pressure drops through the condenser coil.

Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event