Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 13 of 51

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    jersey
    Posts
    108

    Trane Voyager rooftop poopie

    Heyo..
    im working on brand new rooftop.. first stage cooling well.. when i installed system i ran unit thru test mode ..ll was well.. now i think it has been finally put in 2nd stage for the first time other than startup.. RESTRICTION .. compressor ****s off so fast , i cant test for clog by temp..hopefully its in L.L dryer .. cause otherwise.........
    So anyway.. now trane wants me to put in a retro kit that has a txv....but thats changing he coil .. something i want to avoid...at all possible.
    Im on the fone with trane the day after ... and guess what .. units out again . ( at least thats the call i got.. i took coil contacts off the 2nd stage so it wouldnt kick the breakers aanymore) now im onmy way back down there..
    that ws more a lil venting.. my question is related o my control systen.. i have trane rover 4.2.. with that varitrac touch screen controller.. when im trying to test it out i cant find anyway to start system in 2nd stage... anyone know ?how?? . other than starting it and dropping all the zone sensors very low..?? thanks
    Last edited by WorkHardThenDie; 06-21-2012 at 03:43 PM. Reason: typing on my fone

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Paper Street Soap Company
    Posts
    2,304
    With or with out Trackeryou should be able to test it.

    There should be a board with conventional thermostat hookups.

    Isolate Tracker and run a short multi conductor to R, G, Y1 and Y2

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    jersey
    Posts
    108
    thanks for quick reply...
    i meant cant let you do it fromthe controller... thares no option for it .. or stage 2 heat either.
    Last edited by WorkHardThenDie; 06-21-2012 at 04:00 PM. Reason: still on my fone.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Northern VA 38 degrees N by 76 degrees W
    Posts
    5,062
    Quote Originally Posted by WorkHardThenDie View Post
    thanks for quick reply...
    i meant cant let you do it fromthe controller... thares no option for it .. or stage 2 heat either.
    What is the model #

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    East coast USA
    Posts
    1,000
    I had a new RTU 2nd stage doing the same thing on a first time startup. Thought it was TXV or drier. changed dryer. worked for a bit than same issue. I checked around found that this drier had issues in the past..-bad batch- changed drier again. ...all OK.

    My next step was the TXV glad it was the drier...

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    jersey
    Posts
    108

    Frown

    ycd240f3haaa
    going there on sat to recover and try to blow out the lines... considering trane is going take forever on oems...
    how do they not even have a filter drier in stock??
    killin me

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    jersey
    Posts
    108
    btw.. went back. unit running fine in stage one.... women in office complaing its only at 75 when we want 72........
    ITS 101 OUTSIDE! TAKE OFF YOUR PANTSUIT FATTIE!

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Dallas ,Texas
    Posts
    3,725
    Quote Originally Posted by WorkHardThenDie View Post
    ycd240f3haaa
    going there on sat to recover and try to blow out the lines... considering trane is going take forever on oems...
    how do they not even have a filter drier in stock??
    killin me
    Just get a non oem drier.
    UA 100

    It takes three people to do anything around here. Two do the work, one explains to the crowd of people who showed up when they seen smoke and flames.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    jersey
    Posts
    108
    no. r410a
    trane voyager reliatel system.
    installed over the winter.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    OH
    Posts
    149
    looking at manuel .place jumper t1 t2 2 contiuous seconds .allowing unit to energize ,the unit can now be scrolled through modes.when you remove jumper it will stay in that mode 1hr . if you need more info, . Email addresses are not permitted in post. ,I hope this helps used this lots of time . education through knowledge.
    Last edited by beenthere; 06-23-2012 at 08:41 AM. Reason: email

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Southeastern Pa
    Posts
    19,498
    Quote Originally Posted by david chamberla View Post
    looking at manuel .place jumper t1 t2 2 contiuous seconds .allowing unit to energize ,the unit can now be scrolled through modes.when you remove jumper it will stay in that mode 1hr . if you need more info, . Email addresses are not permitted in post. ,I hope this helps used this lots of time . education through knowledge.
    You do realize that this procedure has been in place for over a decade, right?
    [Avatar photo from a Florida training accident. Everyone walked away.]
    2 Tim 3:16-17

    RSES CMS, HVAC Electrical Specialist

    AOP Forum Rules:







  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    PA
    Posts
    68,759
    Email addresses are not permitted in post.
    Contractor locator map

    How-to-apply-for-Professional

    How many times must one fix something before it is fixed?

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    jersey
    Posts
    108
    update.. need advice..
    i cut open lines ... replaced filter dryer...
    same problem ..
    how can i be sire the coil is clogged.. i didnt seem to have any problem getting nitrogen thru..
    so i think the compressor has the problem , but im not sur and all the windings ohm out within .1-.2..
    but is hard to believe that clog is in so many of the take offs from the headers are bad enough to shut this thing down in a matter of seconds.
    and trane is really pissing me off.. they wont send anyone down to check out a unit thats not even a year in its warrenty..
    i dont want this to be all on me and my boss ..
    has anyone ran into anything like this?

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event