Diakin install with pics. Is this proper install?
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 13 of 22
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Fogelsville, Pa.
    Posts
    117

    Diakin install with pics. Is this proper install?

    I work at a hospital and a contractor finished up a building of ours with about 65 Diakin indoor units and four big roof top units. My concern is that every airhandler they installed above the drop ceilings has big holes cut out in the return plenums. Dont know much about the Diakin's or how there installed. And the filter setup sucks also, you just about cut your fingers trying to get the filters out, and you need a hanger to try to hook the filter thats behind the first one. Just seems slopp to me. Any one familiar with these?

    Name:  photo[2].jpg
Views: 473
Size:  33.7 KB

    Name:  photo[1].jpg
Views: 451
Size:  29.9 KB

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    7,321
    I would have preferred it neater, but I am not there. As the end user, it is your professional opinion that matters as far as what you would accept vs what was specified.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    4,306
    That is ugly.................really ugly!
    Make your expertise uniquely valuable.

    Make your influence uniquely far-reaching.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Etters PA.
    Posts
    499
    looks like a ceiling return plenum kinda looks like crap wonder how much air gets around the filter. aside from that it probably work

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    1,646
    Hacktacular.

    Get your spec book and read up or bring it to the ME's attention and let him decide if this meets the project documents.
    Propagating the formula. http://www.noagendashow.com/

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Fairfield county Connecticuit
    Posts
    778
    Daikin sucks you cant get economizers for them in the US but they sell 8 ton air handlers go figure

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    East coast USA
    Posts
    954
    Daikin has a very, very specific warranty policy. If i were you i would request all the information about the equipment. The vendor should give this all over to your company anyway. With the warranty info and the engineer that designed it will make the determination if the installation was done correctly. However, that may not make changing filters easier, that comes when the installation was be done and someone from maintenance saying WTF how do you expect us to change these!and than making a field change. many design engineers and HVAC vendors don't think about the maintenance guys

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    central city ky
    Posts
    8
    Haven't got in to one yet looking forward to it to see what they are made of and try eyes operate

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Queens NYC
    Posts
    21
    I probadly would have fabricated a filter rack with a access door big enough to remove for maintenace. However contractors cant provide textbook work when access is limited. Im in new york so im used to it. This install looks fine by looking at these two pics.


    ---
    I am here: http://maps.google.com/maps?ll=40.730896,-73.866351

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    tyler texas
    Posts
    27
    looks really bad.They may have done this to allow more return air to quiet the units.My company sells these units and they get real noisey when they dont have enough return air

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    4,306
    Lining the RA plenum would quiet it tremendously!
    Make your expertise uniquely valuable.

    Make your influence uniquely far-reaching.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Fogelsville, Pa.
    Posts
    117
    Yea looking like this, why even have a return plenum just put a filter rack and be done with it. Thats what I told the contractor. He hasnt responded yet.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Queens NYC
    Posts
    21
    Quote Originally Posted by billymons View Post
    Yea looking like this, why even have a return plenum just put a filter rack and be done with it. Thats what I told the contractor. He hasnt responded yet.
    Being that its a hospital arent you required to have fresh air? Are these units the means for that fresh air?

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event