Page 2 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast
Results 14 to 26 of 55

Thread: QUAD??

  1. #14
    Join Date
    May 2000
    Location
    Indianapolis, IN, USA
    Posts
    34,586
    Tees on the vent or intake? Either way looks like a recirculate situation. What do you guys think about the ECMs and twinning?

  2. #15
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Posts
    4,970
    Not going to bash the brand being I like Goodman.

    It looks good and I would never have thought of hooking up all 4 together.


    Just a little comment ..... I hate when someone uses that orange spray foam insullation, it looks like crap if left that color. As far as the gas piping, they could have cleaned it up a little .... maybe a clamp or two to make it look a little beter then it does.

    Im not real big on 20' whips on the condensors lol . Cnduit would look better but I can see it being with the crossing of the piping it would be a little more hassel.

    In all it looks great to me. Anyone can judge but then we dont know what the bid was and if you did everthing the most expensive way or the hardest way........... you might not be getting that many bids the way some people lowball now days.


    That looks like one large wood return there ?????? Bet that has a lot of bracing for that weight lol

  3. #16
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Rochester, MN
    Posts
    5,305
    Looks like Bald beat me to it about the T on the exhaust. I totaly agree... problem waiting to happen on a cold crisp Jan night.

    Do you have the before pictures for us?

  4. #17
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    100
    I have found T's on the exhaust to be invaluable, on cold crisp nights it lets some of the moisture to escape straight up instead of down or condensing on the end of an elbow and freezing. JMO

    Wish I would have taken before pictures, where the 4 units set now there was two huge arcoaire 200,000 btu furnaces,


    [Edited by huskerdu on 07-26-2006 at 11:30 PM]
    There is no off switch to the genius mind!!

    Motors run on smoke!! When the smoke comes out of it, it needs a new one!

  5. #18
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Jacksonville, FL.
    Posts
    4,313

    Well....

    You sure know how to run a profitable business.... Put in Goodmans so they'll call you in 5-6yrs. for replacement!
    WHY?

  6. #19
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Posts
    4,970
    So special ......I see in your web site that you dont even show what brand you sell. You that proud of what you sell or just put in Goodman when thats what they want, and to everyone else ...... you bid whatever brand they want ??????

  7. #20
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    North Richland Hills, Texas
    Posts
    14,915
    Hmm, 4 variable speed blowers pulling return air from the same place at the same time...sounds like bad mojo to me.

    I have seen an installation with 2 variable speed units pulling from a common return. In 3 years they went through about 8 motor modules between the 2 units because the variable speed blowers were fighting eachother, causing the motors to hunt. Constant ramping up and down will kill ECM motor modules.

    The reason the supplier told you that the furnaces could not be twinned probably had a lot more to do with the ECM blowers than with the heat pumps.
    If more government is the answer, then it's a really stupid question.

  8. #21
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    northern Il.
    Posts
    131
    I have been around Twinning controls, and two seperate twinning controls, on a quad furn system, but with fixed speed motors. They just have seconds to match, or they will shut down.
    I started out with nothing, and I still have most of it left

  9. #22
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    burlington county n.j.
    Posts
    9,763
    wood screwed to the side of a gas furnace??? flex gas piping directly into furnace. this is wall of shame job before you see the gooman name or the v drive blowers hooked up as a quad!!

  10. #23
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    94
    Job looked nice and neat!

    In the golden olden days I used to twin furnaces and used a bariometric damper to stop the motors from spinning backwards, would this help on variable speed jobs?
    Still Crazy after all these years.

  11. #24
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    PA
    Posts
    68,752
    I'm guessing that your relay system energizes the Y terminal of all the furnaces weather 1 or all 4 HP's are running.

    Hope it keeps working for you, or you'll be changing alot of ecm motors for free for years to come.(aleast free labor)

    Do you have protection wired in incase a blower fails in either heat or cool ?

    Post about this set up again in 2 more years.
    Contractor locator map

    How-to-apply-for-Professional

    How many times must one fix something before it is fixed?

  12. #25
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Perth - Western Australia
    Posts
    775
    [QUOTE]Originally posted by huskerdu
    [B]

    solid state relays for each connection from the thermostat

    I am amazed each time the furnaces fire it is like a symphony identical timing on the heatpumps and the backups.

    The supplier said it would not work but I installed these last OCT. and have never looked back. they have been very reliable.

    How would a goodman supplier know anything about controls :-)
    The Captain.

  13. #26
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Pennsylvania
    Posts
    7

    Thumbs up

    Excellent work and a great idea. Ive put in twins before but this is the perfect solution for some of those big old units they don't make any more.

Page 2 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event