Results 1 to 11 of 11
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Ottawa, Canada
    Posts
    167
    Post Likes

    Trane goes boom!

    Guess I know what I'll be doing tomorrow.
    Attached Images Attached Images  

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Windsor, Ont.
    Posts
    572
    Post Likes
    Been there done that, I assume your combustion motor is fried as well. Do you have the most recent service bulletin for that scenario??

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Ottawa, Canada
    Posts
    167
    Post Likes
    I knew there was a service bulletin at some point, couple years ago right? I called my Trane locally and he said replacing the combustion blower will end all my problems. Was that the fix, new combustion blower motor? I thought there was some sort of relay kit as well.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Windsor, Ont.
    Posts
    572
    Post Likes
    Here you go, kit part numbers are included. I had to replace every board and both the high voltage and control wiring harnesses on the last one I did. Trane however came good for all of the parts because it was less than 5 years old.
    Attached Images Attached Images

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Windsor, Ont.
    Posts
    572
    Post Likes
    I also fused that transformer as there is no overcurrent protection from factory.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Ottawa, Canada
    Posts
    167
    Post Likes
    Quote Originally Posted by nyrb View Post
    Here you go, kit part numbers are included.
    Thanks nyrb, I knew he was leaving something out when I called him. Will fuse it as well.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Coastal Maine
    Posts
    947
    Post Likes
    Quote Originally Posted by nyrb View Post
    I also fused that transformer as there is no overcurrent protection from factory.
    Ditto on that one.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Afton, VA / Khorat, Thailand
    Posts
    2,469
    Post Likes
    Replace that turd with some real equipment. Not that hard to stop after all.........
    Tough times don't last...Tough people do.

    Midnight Sun Astrophotography

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Boston, MA
    Posts
    461
    Post Likes
    Quote Originally Posted by nyrb View Post
    I also fused that transformer as there is no overcurrent protection from factory.
    What size fuse do you use?

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Windsor, Ont.
    Posts
    572
    Post Likes
    Quote Originally Posted by FrostyBeer View Post
    What size fuse do you use?
    It's been a while but I think I fused the primary with a pair of 1 amp time delay fuses, this unit was a 600 volt model.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    NJ
    Posts
    104
    Post Likes
    Sounds like your not sure how to proceed with the repair, just use the skill you know you have, jump in & learn from it.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor MagazineThe place where Electrical professionals meet.
Quality Home Comfort Awards