Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 14 to 26 of 30
  1. #14
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    East coast USA
    Posts
    973
    Quote Originally Posted by KnewYork View Post
    Inquiring minds want to know...what did you find?
    The switch is good and we have both 120V and 24V to and through the switch. I got called away before I got much farther than that. I traced it to where it goes into the lower circuit board and we have voltage at that point

  2. #15
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Kansas City, Kansas, United States
    Posts
    13,833
    i do not think a switch will cause numerous error codes?????
    I WILL SELL WORK,GENERATE BUSINESS, GO GET NEW CUSTOMERS!
    YOU SHUT THE HELL UP AND QUIT RUNNING YOUR MOUTH!

  3. #16
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    1,172
    Quote Originally Posted by supertek65 View Post
    i do not think a switch will cause numerous error codes?????
    The "weird alarms" were taken care of previously. The problem now is the chiller won't run.

  4. #17
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    East coast USA
    Posts
    973
    update,,,,,I had a factory rep come out and perform a diagnostic on it... they hooked it up and ran all the test everything checked out fine. went to start it up everything worked great???? they couldn't say why or what may have locked it out. My only assumption when i was checking the connections on the boards to make sure they were seated right may have done some thing or, when they hooked up the computer something corrected itself. anyway,,, the mystery continues i will keep you all posted.

  5. #18
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    East coast USA
    Posts
    973
    here's one more issue we came up with during our testing

    We can’t run the York at full capacity because it surges. I was told we need to change the variable orifice valve and actuator. Since we don’t run the York during peak times we haven’t needed to run it at full capacity so we haven’t had any issues with it.

    could this be the only reason it surges? and if i left it alone and didn't run it at full capacity do you see any reason to make the repairs?

    Thanks!

  6. #19
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    East coast USA
    Posts
    973
    Quote Originally Posted by dlove View Post
    here's one more issue we came up with during our testing

    We can’t run the York at full capacity because it surges. I was told we need to change the variable orifice valve and actuator. Since we don’t run the York during peak times we haven’t needed to run it at full capacity so we haven’t had any issues with it.

    could this be the only reason it surges? and if i left it alone and didn't run it at full capacity do you see any reason to make the repairs?

    Thanks!
    Let me restate one part...I know other reasons why chiller surge...other than the obvious reasons like temps, and air...I was curious why they think its the orifice...

  7. #20
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    1,172
    Quote Originally Posted by dlove
    We can’t run the York at full capacity because it surges. I was told we need to change the variable orifice valve and actuator. Since we don’t run the York during peak times we haven’t needed to run it at full capacity so we haven’t had any issues with it.
    Sorry, but I'm going to hold my BS card up on this statement. But perhaps I don't have all the necessary information. Why are they stating that the problem is with the VOV and actuator? Is the VOV or actuator inoperable? When you run the chiller at less than full load is there a level in the condenser sight glass? Have you programmed a trending screen and trended the level in the condenser? Do you have large changes in the level percentage? If you have the condenser filling and draining you may get it to surge, but it seems more likely that you would run the risk of failing on LEP as you stack too much liquid in the condenser.

    Does this chiller have a VSD? Set up a trending screen with ECHW temp (data point 1), LCHW temp (data point 2), Condenser Liquid level (data point 3), % PRV (data point 4), VSD frequency (data point 5) and condneser water inlet (data point 6). Set interval for 5 seconds and start the trend. Take a photo of the screen after the charts fill the screen and post it.

    I still want to know how they can possibly condemn both the VOV (a butterfly) and the actuator at the same time. When the chiller is not running have you tried to close the VOV by using the raise/lower liquid level buttons on the condenser screen when in the service mode?

  8. #21
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    East coast USA
    Posts
    973
    I agree, Yes it a VSD. I will try to get this done asap. thanks, good input.

    I had a similar problem on a carrier and that turned out to be only the actuator, it was messed up. So that's why i had to ask..i just got this feeling in my belly.

  9. #22
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    East coast USA
    Posts
    973
    update,

    so come to find out the VOV is frozen and will not move, which in turn fried the actuator. It amazes me why i have to find this out well after the fact. been this way for sometime from what i have been told. So will make plans to repair it. Not sure when this happened. I'm not on site there a lot and for the most part it runs but never has to fully load. So i guess they figured they didn't have to fix it. but i plan too. This building landed in my lap several months ago, so i have been finding a lot of interesting things. need to find a good York service provider in the Atlanta, GA area.

    I plan to do this during our winter shut down and PM.

    KnewYork, your know your stuff and i appreciated your input..Thanks

  10. #23
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    1,172
    Quote Originally Posted by dlove
    I plan to do this during our winter shut down and PM.
    You, as in yourself? Or are you going to bring someone in to perform the repairs? I haven't heard of a VOV becoming "stuck" and inoperable. It's just a butterfly valve. Have you removed the actuator and tried to turn the VOV with an adjustable wrench? Also, if you take the actuator and set it on the ground can you get it to operate from the condenser level screen (in the service mode)? The actuators shouldn't "fry" because the valve is stuck. Not saying it isn't, but I would be inclined to double check it.

  11. #24
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    1,172
    dlove, put an email address or allow PM in your profile and I'll send you a referral for a company in Atlanta.

  12. #25
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    East coast USA
    Posts
    973
    Quote Originally Posted by KnewYork View Post
    dlove, put an email address or allow PM in your profile and I'll send you a referral for a company in Atlanta.
    my profile has my e-mail ...just so you know the property is closer to Macon Ga. 1.5 hr from Atlanta if that helps.

    Yes, i spoke to my Tech he tried to move the VOV and we disconnected the actuator he said they both don't move.

  13. #26
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    1,172
    Sorry, I must have missed it earlier. I sent you an email.

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event