Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 13 of 30

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    East coast USA
    Posts
    962

    York Chiller weird alarms

    Model YTH1A4E1CNJ

    Weird alarms coming in, chiller will not run it. appears that there is a problem with the diagnostic board. The faults that show up keep changing along with the dates of the faults. Then the fault history will clear and start over again. All of this happens without the chiller even running. Now I am back to my original theory that it caught a stray power surge caused by the storms that went through here over the weekend.

    Any thoughts?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    so cal
    Posts
    22
    check for short on a sensor or transducer. also check all ribbons and wire connections are pushed in. i just had a yt fail because of this.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    York, PA
    Posts
    159
    Quote Originally Posted by chillersinc View Post
    check for short on a sensor or transducer. also check all ribbons and wire connections are pushed in. i just had a yt fail because of this.
    agree, sounds like a loose wire or connection.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    East coast USA
    Posts
    962
    Update... I did check all connections and everything went back to working great. I cant pin point which wire or connection, but i did find a few loose. I think that was it...Thanks for the tip!!

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    So. Fl.
    Posts
    57
    Depending on York chiller type, there is an external box located over the cooler barrel,weather proof. Has all temp./safety wires in it,I have found rubbed/cut wiring inside giving false alarms,open it up and replace all wirenuts. Should make problems stop at once,
    With severe weather could have become wet inside.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    East coast USA
    Posts
    962
    New issues, The system ran great for a awhile than shut down. Power down and up , screen passes dia. but the unit will not run. I see the red light on MB CR18 failure. any ideas?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    1,151
    The red light doesn't necessarily mean anything. The manual tells of its function. I think almost every board I've seen has the red light illuminated. Let's get specific...from the M/N it should be an Optiview panel. Is it the original microboard 031-01730-xxx? What do the two lines on the top left of the Optiview home screen say?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    1,151
    Quote Originally Posted by dlove
    We can’t run the York at full capacity because it surges. I was told we need to change the variable orifice valve and actuator. Since we don’t run the York during peak times we haven’t needed to run it at full capacity so we haven’t had any issues with it.
    Sorry, but I'm going to hold my BS card up on this statement. But perhaps I don't have all the necessary information. Why are they stating that the problem is with the VOV and actuator? Is the VOV or actuator inoperable? When you run the chiller at less than full load is there a level in the condenser sight glass? Have you programmed a trending screen and trended the level in the condenser? Do you have large changes in the level percentage? If you have the condenser filling and draining you may get it to surge, but it seems more likely that you would run the risk of failing on LEP as you stack too much liquid in the condenser.

    Does this chiller have a VSD? Set up a trending screen with ECHW temp (data point 1), LCHW temp (data point 2), Condenser Liquid level (data point 3), % PRV (data point 4), VSD frequency (data point 5) and condneser water inlet (data point 6). Set interval for 5 seconds and start the trend. Take a photo of the screen after the charts fill the screen and post it.

    I still want to know how they can possibly condemn both the VOV (a butterfly) and the actuator at the same time. When the chiller is not running have you tried to close the VOV by using the raise/lower liquid level buttons on the condenser screen when in the service mode?

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    East coast USA
    Posts
    962
    I agree, Yes it a VSD. I will try to get this done asap. thanks, good input.

    I had a similar problem on a carrier and that turned out to be only the actuator, it was messed up. So that's why i had to ask..i just got this feeling in my belly.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    East coast USA
    Posts
    962
    00000005.jpg00000001.jpg


    check this out not sure of the last few numbers 000 or 040....

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    1,151
    O.K., you have a 031-01730-000 board. According to the second photo you are in the local mode and service level and the system is stopped. What happens when you push the rocker switch on the panel to the start/run position? Does the system go into pre-lube? What does the screen (top two lines) say then. In the photo you've shown indicates the rocker switch is off.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    East coast USA
    Posts
    962
    Quote Originally Posted by KnewYork View Post
    O.K., you have a 031-01730-000 board. According to the second photo you are in the local mode and service level and the system is stopped. What happens when you push the rocker switch on the panel to the start/run position? Does the system go into pre-lube? What does the screen (top two lines) say then. In the photo you've shown indicates the rocker switch is off.
    when we push to run, nothing happens. the screen stays the same.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    1,151
    Quote Originally Posted by dlove
    I plan to do this during our winter shut down and PM.
    You, as in yourself? Or are you going to bring someone in to perform the repairs? I haven't heard of a VOV becoming "stuck" and inoperable. It's just a butterfly valve. Have you removed the actuator and tried to turn the VOV with an adjustable wrench? Also, if you take the actuator and set it on the ground can you get it to operate from the condenser level screen (in the service mode)? The actuators shouldn't "fry" because the valve is stuck. Not saying it isn't, but I would be inclined to double check it.

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event