Results 1 to 13 of 13
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Portland OR
    Posts
    1,980

    Communicating Trane XL20i and TAM8

    I know some have disliked the Trane Hyperion air handlers but I love them, they have been working great and are incredibly quiet. Here is a recent install of a TAM8 air handler with a 3 Ton XL20i and a Trane XL950 thermostat and clean effects air purification. This is the customers second XL20i, when they moved the heating system was the first thing they upgraded they liked their last homes system so much.

    http://youtu.be/lQ025fDfpNs

    I know that somebody will comment on this but, that is where the white temperature sensor is supposed to be, this unit is communicating so sensors go in places other than where you would normally put them because most of the sensing is done on board the XL20i unit.
    Check out my YouTube channel - http://www.youtube.com/user/skyheating1 We have customer testimonials, product reviews and more!
    Like us on FACEBOOK if you like our advice here!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Redwood City, CA
    Posts
    73
    Quote Originally Posted by SkyHeating View Post
    I know that somebody will comment on this but, that is where the white temperature sensor is supposed to be, this unit is communicating so sensors go in places other than where you would normally put them because most of the sensing is done on board the XL20i unit.

    I was going to ask, Then I read this. lol

    No way to protect the 2 wire on the sensor?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Jacksonville, FL.
    Posts
    4,313
    Other than it being a Trane, the install looks very good!
    WHY?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    The very humid south
    Posts
    707
    Hey Travis, I just got a letter in the mail from my distributor stating one can not use the clean effects whith the TAM8 communicating air handler. Obviously you have, any problems with the setup?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Portland OR
    Posts
    1,980
    Quote Originally Posted by acsolutionsllc View Post
    Hey Travis, I just got a letter in the mail from my distributor stating one can not use the clean effects with the TAM8 communicating air handler. Obviously you have, any problems with the setup?
    No problems. There are certain model numbers of Clean Effects that are NOT communicating so you need to select a communicating clean effects or it will not work. If it is a non communicating clean effects then it will break the communication signal between the devices and cause errors. Check with your distributor to see how old their inventory is if you are a Trane dealer.
    Check out my YouTube channel - http://www.youtube.com/user/skyheating1 We have customer testimonials, product reviews and more!
    Like us on FACEBOOK if you like our advice here!

  6. #6
    Quote Originally Posted by SkyHeating View Post
    I know some have disliked the Trane Hyperion air handlers but I love them, they have been working great and are incredibly quiet. Here is a recent install of a TAM8 air handler with a 3 Ton XL20i and a Trane XL950 thermostat and clean effects air purification. This is the customers second XL20i, when they moved the heating system was the first thing they upgraded they liked their last homes system so much.

    http://youtu.be/lQ025fDfpNs

    I know that somebody will comment on this but, that is where the white temperature sensor is supposed to be, this unit is communicating so sensors go in places other than where you would normally put them because most of the sensing is done on board the XL20i unit.
    I had 2 of these units installed in February and kept getting error codes 89 and 91. After several service calls they finally said they were having problems with clean effects communicating with the Tam8 and were trying to find a fix for it. In the mean time they hooked up a circuit sensing relay with the communicating wire disconected. I called Trane corp office to complain and after telling them this is not what i paid for and they can take both units out they sent me an email promising they would put me on a list to fix this issue as soon as they figure it out.I called 3weeks ago and they said still no fix.I love the unit but not happy that feature is not working and feel my system is rigged with this circuit sensing relay.Spent way too much money installing 2 of these units for it not to work as advertised. So are you saying there is a fix, they just need to give me the newer model for clean effects ? Thanks in advance for your help.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Palm Beach,Fl.
    Posts
    964
    Yes there is a clean effects model specifically for the communicating systems. They should be able to simply swap the power door.
    Quote Originally Posted by k-fridge View Post
    The laws of physics know no brand names.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    594
    Nice install! Communicating equipment is the wave of the future.

    Still have a ton of hate for a electronic air cleaner though!!!! Like selling someone a car you have to change the oil on every 30 days!!!

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Kansas City
    Posts
    124
    Good install. Looks like it is a little too close to the house. Should have put a Lennox system in

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    The Alamo
    Posts
    3,025
    I thought the outdoor temp sensor was installed on the outdoor unit or is this something else
    Read, read, read!

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    594
    Quote Originally Posted by Bsmith816 View Post
    Good install. Looks like it is a little too close to the house. Should have put a Lennox system in
    Lennox doesn't even make a communicating system....

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Delaware
    Posts
    3,824
    Is the metal duct in the cement?
    Always here

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Portland OR
    Posts
    1,980
    It does look close in the video but I assure you it's 12" from the siding to the unit, that's our code here.

    Yes the metal duct out of the bottom of the air handler is in the cement, that's how 95% of homes are installed here. Base can set before garage poor with ducting going to the crawl and a riser on the side going to the second floor. Most homes don't have basements and we almost exclusively use downflow furnaces lol.

    Yes most of the sensors are on the unit, I would have to ask my technician what that one is for but I know it was needed even for communicating.
    Check out my YouTube channel - http://www.youtube.com/user/skyheating1 We have customer testimonials, product reviews and more!
    Like us on FACEBOOK if you like our advice here!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event