You all know my story, I'm a service manager (maintenance man) for an apartment complex. Well, there's 19 buildings here all protected by fire alarm systems. Any way we are having a pretty good lightning storm here tonight. About and hour and a half ago I get a call from the alarm company for a fire in a building, I go there and the fire dept just showed up and of course no fire, just a lightning strike. We set it to fire watch and they leave. Five minutes later they are coming back, 2 more buildings are going off. Same thing in these two. Ok they leave and I assume they get back to the station, I get back home and low and behold I get another call from the alarm company. I have another building going off, I get out there and here comes the fire dept. This time only one guy gets out of the truck and checks it out. So now I have 4 buildings struck by lightning with alarm panels fried. Boy are the bosses going to be pissed off tomorrow.

That easy, huh?

I wouldn't have thought lightning could take out the firepanels that easy.
    Is this a Fabreze moment? C.Y.D. I'm voting white elephant. 2’.
    My competition are my best salespeople!

Me either, but this was one hell of a lightning storm. knocked power out around the neighborhood, street lights are still out. Personally I think the alarm comp. screwed up. They have lightning arresters on them but they must not be wired right or something.

the school system i work for has the same problem.alot of times lightening will hit a smoke detector and knock out the whole system. if your lucky that is what it did there.and by the way i know the feeling its a pain in the rear when you have to get up and go out and you know its not really a fire but the darn alarm screwed up i have been there and i feel your pain.......................

Originally posted by workhorse