Hello Everyone:

I'm a newbie who just recently found this site. Wish I had known about it before I decided on a new system for our home. I've already signed up for a new Hybrid (duel fuel) system but would like some opinions about the quality of the selected equipment. I got about 4 different estimates and felt the most trust with this company. This company is local (Ga.) and has been around for 30 years. The install will start on 7/24.

We have a 2500sf home with about 500sf upstairs. 15ft ceilings in the living and dining area and 9ft in the rest of the house. The two rooms upstairs are in an area above the garage and gets quite warm up there.

We currently have a 10 year old Rheem, an RAKA060JAZ 5ton series that is very inefficient and sounds like a battleship when it kicks on. It has been problematic and we have decided to bite the bullet and get a new system.

The Manual J lists these numbers:
    3.349 Tons (based on sensible + latent)
    3.879 Tons (based on 77% sensible capacity)
    These numbers seem to agree with the estimate of my dealer's initial estimate of a 4ton.

Suggested Equipment specs are:
    TUD100R9V5 XV80 furnace with two stage heat and variable speed indoor blower motor.
    Aprilaire model 2200 hi efficiency air cleaner
    RXC054S3 hi efficiency indoor coil.
    4TWX4048 4ton XL 14i deluxe hi efficiency heat pump. System uses R410 refrigerant.
    New Refrigeration line set.
    EWC (2 zones, one up and one downstairs)Zone Control panel.
    Motorized zone dampers.
    Barometric bypass damper.
    Hart & Cooley A-618 adjustable deflection registers.
    TCONT803 VIsion Pro tstat with summertime humidity control. One thermostat upstairs and one downstairs.

They will put in new metal supply and return air plenums and run metal trunk ducts 5 to 15 feet from furnace plenum and then tie into the flex duct.