Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    my boss is persistent about me doing service.what would be a good digital thermometer for figuring out sub cooling and superheat.thye fluke model 52-2.i think this even figures out your differential?good? any thoughts?

Go with the fluke 52-2 and fluke pipe clamp probe!

I use a fluke pipe clamp probe hooked to a feild peice MM....not a fluke but works and seems a LOT more accurrate than a pipe clamp thermomoter I was useing or cliping the thermocupler from the MM to the pipe.

73% of Americans say that illegal immigration is a problem. The other 27% say, "No habla inglis!"

I bought one of the fluke pipe clamp deals, it was so far off, and been leary of them ever since.

Originally posted by cool-blew
    I bought one of the fluke pipe clamp deals, it was so far off, and been leary of them ever since.
    I have been using the pipe clamp probes for about 10 years now and find them to be the most accurate way to get the temperature of a pipe.

If you are doing the typical ice water test to check its accuracy, you have to clamp it around a small section of pipe or something. They don't directly read liquid or air temperatures very accuratly.
    If more government is the answer, then it's a really stupid question.

Been thinking about getting a Cooper/Atkins MFM300 Multi-Function Meter, has just about everything covered in one meter. Anyone have any feedback on this thing. Have used a cooper SH66A with no problems.

Does the clamp on pipe probe for the Fluke 54 also work with a Fluke 87?

Also, is using a non-contact, IR thermometer accurate enough for determining superheat temperatures?

Originally posted by bugman1400

Also, is using a non-contact, IR thermometer accurate enough for determining superheat temperatures?
    lol nope

My set up.

[Edited by fitter638nyc on 07-16-2006 at 11:02 PM]
    Tin Knockers BANG for a living

Originally posted by bugman1400