Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Combining a 4 ton a/c condenser with a 3 ton evaporator

Hi all,
    My name is George and I am a Home Inspector. I need conformation for a question that was posed to me by a client recently.
    What she wanted to know is, whether or not she could install a 4 year old 4 ton Trane a/c condenser unit in place of a 15 year old 3 ton Ruud heat pump while using the original 3 ton Ruud evaporator coil that is already installed in her 1550 sq. ft. home.
    Any input would be greatly appreciated.
    Thanks

I would NOT do that for a number of reasons.

First, you're trying to force 1600-cfm of air volume through a coil rated for 1200-cfm; static pressure drop will skyrocket.

Second, it would need a properly size TXV flow meter with it installed you could reduce airflow & the TXV would reduce the flow, however, the condenser would have excess liquid in it.

Therefore, you'd be greatly reducing the efficiency & Btuh Rating of the 4-Ton condenser... There is more but am quitting typing...

yeah, there is lots more.
    but Udarrel has hit the crux of the matter.
    also duct sizing may not be able to handle the
    increased amount of air flow. return size would
    have to be increased.

if she needs more cooling she would do better
    to determine why the unit isn't providing this.
    upsizing doesn't always solve problems it often
    creates a whole set of new ones.

I realize some home inspectors don't get into the whole
    hvac thing, but to learn enough to be able to answer these
    types of questions would increase the value of your service.
    to be able to recommend a hvac company that would
    correct her problems rather than exacerbate them is a good
    thing imo.

best of luck..to both of you.
    Last edited by energy_rater_La; 06-03-2012 at 01:12 PM. Reason: spelling
    The cure of the part should not be attempted without the cure of the whole. ~Plato