Results 1 to 12 of 12
  1. #1

    Hmm

    Anybody know anything about these units that a local contractor wants to install in my house? Any upgrades I should think about? Thanks ahead of time.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    4,288
    Thats Lennox's bottom of the line 80% furnace and bottome of the line 13 seer condenser. Enough said.

  3. #3
    Entry level equipment - look for upgrades to at least G51 Elite series furnace for efficiency Check the Lennox website for additional info.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2000
    Location
    Indianapolis, IN, USA
    Posts
    33,396
    The A/C is the cheapo cube. I'd sure suggest upgrading to the Elite 13. Much nicer built unit, better warranty. Where are you? Maybe dual fuel with heat pump & gas might be a good choice?

    Standard


    Elite with 10 year comp warranty, nice cabinet, quieter

  5. #5

    asking a similar thing...

    Howdy,

    I just signed up to get this pair of units installed next week. I can still change if I need/want to.

    I'm getting the two units, new ductwork, 6 additional vents, and moving the furnace unit from a cabinent into the attic space, and the new thermostat.

    It's a 900 sq/ft condo in Southern California near the coast.

    Are these units sufficient, even though they are the baseline, or should I ask about an upgrade to one of the Elite units?.. what would the price difference be?..

    (While the AC will get good use, previously we've only used the heat about 10 nights or so a year).

    This is replacing units that were installed in the early 80's, so it's a complete replacement of the system.

    Any advice/comments?...

    (adding that the refrigerant lines run inside the walls, so switching to units with the new refrigerants may not be feasible if the lines have to be changed)
    Last edited by halabar; 06-27-2008 at 06:28 PM. Reason: additional information

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Lancaster PA
    Posts
    66,775
    Please remove the prises. Pricing is not allowed on this site, its in the rules. Thank you.
    Contractor locator map

    How-to-apply-for-Professional

    How many times must one fix something before it is fixed?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    DC Metro Area (MD)
    Posts
    3,350
    Quote Originally Posted by halabar View Post
    Howdy,

    I just signed up to get this pair of units installed next week. I can still change if I need/want to.

    I'm getting the two units, new ductwork, 6 additional vents, and moving the furnace unit from a cabinent into the attic space, and the new thermostat.

    It's a 900 sq/ft condo in Southern California near the coast.

    Are these units sufficient, even though they are the baseline, or should I ask about an upgrade to one of the Elite units?.. what would the price difference be?..

    (While the AC will get good use, previously we've only used the heat about 10 nights or so a year).

    This is replacing units that were installed in the early 80's, so it's a complete replacement of the system.

    Any advice/comments?...

    (adding that the refrigerant lines run inside the walls, so switching to units with the new refrigerants may not be feasible if the lines have to be changed)
    If the lines are the right size and they are properly flushed/purged, then you should not have the change the lines. I would recommend an upgrade to the XC13 or XC14. The HP13 uses R22, if that's the route you wanted to take, though I'd recommend you go with R410A personally. The G51 would still be a nice upgrade for the furnace. See what your contractor thinks. The Merit series equipment will cool and heat just fine if sized properly, but sometimes it's better to get a higher-quality product with a better warranty.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    burlington county n.j.
    Posts
    9,642
    stay with the cheap furnace if you want but go with a better a/c unit.

    no need for 90% furnace for how much you use it and many condo's around here won't allow them.

    if any upgrade on the heater i would go up to the g60 v drive unit just for the variable speed blower..........

  9. #9
    Quote Originally Posted by RyanHughes View Post
    If the lines are the right size and they are properly flushed/purged, then you should not have the change the lines. I would recommend an upgrade to the XC13 or XC14. The HP13 uses R22, if that's the route you wanted to take, though I'd recommend you go with R410A personally. The G51 would still be a nice upgrade for the furnace. See what your contractor thinks. The Merit series equipment will cool and heat just fine if sized properly, but sometimes it's better to get a higher-quality product with a better warranty.
    Sounds like the line size is a problem. I just talked to the contractor, and he said that for the Elite units the lines would have to be upgraded from what I have, and the association rules say existing lines must be used. (Can only replace if faulty, and due to siding that would be extensive work).

    The size of the external unit is also an issue. It can't go up in overall size..

    Which unit would still use the same size lines and keep the same size?.. (The association rules say the tonnage is to stay the same but what they really are concerned about is the footprint). Also at issue is putting the furnace in the common attic area, contractor is going to talk to the association about that.. (sigh...)

    Thanks for all the replies!!!

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    burlington county n.j.
    Posts
    9,642
    Quote Originally Posted by RyanHughes View Post
    If the lines are the right size and they are properly flushed/purged, then you should not have the change the lines. I would recommend an upgrade to the XC13 or XC14. The HP13 uses R22, if that's the route you wanted to take, though I'd recommend you go with R410A personally. The G51 would still be a nice upgrade for the furnace. See what your contractor thinks. The Merit series equipment will cool and heat just fine if sized properly, but sometimes it's better to get a higher-quality product with a better warranty.


    how many of these have you done ???????





    or did you stay at the holiday inn express.........

  11. #11
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    DC Metro Area (MD)
    Posts
    3,350
    Quote Originally Posted by halabar View Post
    Sounds like the line size is a problem. I just talked to the contractor, and he said that for the Elite units the lines would have to be upgraded from what I have, and the association rules say existing lines must be used. (Can only replace if faulty, and due to siding that would be extensive work).

    The size of the external unit is also an issue. It can't go up in overall size..

    Which unit would still use the same size lines and keep the same size?.. (The association rules say the tonnage is to stay the same but what they really are concerned about is the footprint). Also at issue is putting the furnace in the common attic area, contractor is going to talk to the association about that.. (sigh...)

    Thanks for all the replies!!!
    Ask the contractor for your current line sizes if he wrote it down, unless you know. It can be compared to what Lennox requires.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    DC Metro Area (MD)
    Posts
    3,350
    Quote Originally Posted by t527ed View Post
    how many of these have you done ???????





    or did you stay at the holiday inn express.........
    Hmmm?

    I don't install or service (aside from the typical basic maintenance on my own system). I call a company myself. Just friendly advice from one HO to another.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event