Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 14 to 19 of 19
  1. #14
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Woodbridge Twp, NJ
    Posts
    1,307
    Believe me, this customer has no qualms about paying. I wish i had 10 more like him.

    If you look at the video, you'll see the vibration from the rooftop is shaking the condensing unit so we're going to change out the rooftop unit. Besides the fact that the thing shakes like a 3-legged dog pooping on a frozen lake, the replacement parts are either unavailable or so expensive it doesn't make sense to throw that into this dinosaur.

    I like the idea of putting rubber feet under the condenser fan motor.
    Every customer you take for granted today will be someone else's tomorrow.

  2. #15
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Hammond,La.
    Posts
    1,176
    Use these on the little guy.

    Let me clarify that I have never used isolators from shielding earthquake like mounting surfaces from equipment since it is usually used for keeping the device from vibrating the mounting surface... A weak shaking roof may not have the same results lol
    "I am for doing good to the poor, but I differ in opinion of the means. I think the best way of doing good to the poor, is not making them easy in poverty, but leading or driving them out of it."
    Benjamin Franklin, 1766

  3. #16
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Hull
    Posts
    53
    Put the condensing unit on spring and forgot the rooftop

  4. #17
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Woodbridge Twp, NJ
    Posts
    1,307
    Condenser isnt heavy enough for springs. You figure 4 spring that can hold 50lbs apiece, the unit will have to be over 200lbs for them to work properly. Otherwise it will make it rigid, just 3 inches higher. That is why i put rubber feet underneath.
    The rooftop, Jonnyb, is shaking everything. If you see in the video, though, the freezer condenser is the closest to it so it's taking the brunt of it. I'm changing out the rooftop because besides the vibration problem, it has other issues.
    Every customer you take for granted today will be someone else's tomorrow.

  5. #18
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Hull
    Posts
    53
    Yes change the rooftop is the solution

  6. #19
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    maine
    Posts
    788
    Quote Originally Posted by 2sac View Post
    Is it feasable to just relocate the condensing unit another 10ft from the Trane? Should take less than a day to extend the lineset and electric.
    I'm suprised the evap coil utubes on the a/c hasn't started to leak. That was common in those units
    from the looks that trane has long done its duty and that things gotta make noise in the building

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event