Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    over here
    Posts
    458

    How to calibrate dial manifold guages

    I have a new set of 4 valve cps gauges. I have been told numerous times the way to calibrate is to connect to a jug of r22 or 410a, tape a thermocouple to a jug of said refrigerant and match the saturation temp to the thermocouple temp. When I did this the gauges no longer read zero. I'm just looking for re assurance and confirmation of this method. This set was 180.00 and it drives me mad. I don't want to spring for digital just yet.

    Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using Xparent Green Tapatalk 2

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    NJ
    Posts
    1,204
    You just described the difference between zeroing a gauge and calibrating a gauge, nice job.
    Ed J

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    1,629
    That is the best way to calibrate. They are then calibrated to the range you
    will be using them in. Otherwise they will be calibrated to read an accurate 0psig.










    Sent from my Crappy HP Desktop using 1991 Technology.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    over here
    Posts
    458
    Thanks for the response gents. I'm gonna eventually get the sman3... I find myself being more and more picky about accuracy.. this manifold won't last :

    Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using Xparent Green Tapatalk 2

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    wedged in freezer shelf
    Posts
    6,939
    Quote Originally Posted by gonefishing View Post
    That is the best way to calibrate. They are then calibrated to the range you
    will be using them in. Otherwise they will be calibrated to read an accurate 0psig.










    Sent from my Crappy HP Desktop using 1991 Technology.
    LOL




    Sent from my PosFone
    “If You Can Dodge A Wrench You Can Dodge A Ball”

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Chicagoland
    Posts
    479
    Quote Originally Posted by JJDH View Post
    tape a thermocouple to a jug of said refrigerant and match the saturation temp to the thermocouple temp.
    In order to use this method, the tank and all of its contents must be at exactly the temp measured by the thermocouple. This means keeping the jug at the same temp for 24 hours and insulating the thermocouple, provided your thermocouple is accurate.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    over here
    Posts
    458
    10-4. I think I was second guessing it only because the new set don't read zero after calibration.

    Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using Xparent Green Tapatalk 2

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    NW burbs of Detroit
    Posts
    6,058
    i jus' likes the dickens outta my SMAN 3 an' Testo 557.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    In a boiler room
    Posts
    7,157
    Also, make sure you calibrate the thermocouple in ice water first.




    Sent from my laptop using internet.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event