Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Overcharge or undercharge 410A system

Yes I could use some help and yes I have the universal esco certification to handle refrigerants.

My problem is that I am new to the trade after finishing trade school and I am attempting to recharge my home 410A system.

I will post the stats on my American Standard 4 ton fixed orifice system.

By fixed orifice I understand that super cool is the most accurate way to charge the system.

The unit is presently cooling within the following parameters. If I am in the wrong place to post this or no one can help fix this I understand.

Line set = 40 feet (kind of a long one after we moved the condenser to the other side of the house.

Ambient for afternoon: 83 F

Head pressure: 118F 83 + 35 = 118F more or less shows on the high side gauge if I understand this correctly.

Low side pressure: 125 psi = 42 saturation temp. 66.2 low side line temp.
    High side pressure: 335psi = 104 saturation temp. 83.1 high side line temp.

Temp at the vent in rooms: 56.1F + or minus
    Temp from supply side: 55.2F
    Temp for return side: 68F

When I figure super heat or sub cool on these saturation temps and line temps my super cool/sub cool show I guess a major overcharge. The outside low side line is just sweating a little not much and not icing up.
    66.2 – 42 = 24 superheat
    104 – 83 = 21 sub cool

I have added virgin 410A to the system but I can’t believe it needs more added unless the long line set to the A-coil needs more to charge it properly above the 4lbs. 56 ounces stamped on the unit.

Does anyone have any ideas I can try to tune this unit “right” on for the summer?

Any advice would be appreciated.

Thanks in advance.
    wlamore

Charge according to Superheat...you need to know indoor ambient and return wet bulb along with odt next time you check.

Sent from my ADR6350 using Tapatalk 2

Fixed orifice charge is checked with superheat, the high superheat indicates a low charge or restriction.