I am a home inspector and have not been running heat pumps in the summer months to test for heat. Many of the books and training materials say not to.

Of course this is the same material that suggest that temp splits between 16F-20F are a good indication of cooling system performance.

This topic came up on an inspector message board and it seems everyone is quoting the same literature, but nobody could point out any manufacturer restrictions. What is being quoted is high pressures possibly causing damage. But again nobody has found anything regarding this in any mfr. literature.

So my question is, is our training material full of it? Can damage occur by running the heat pump in heat mode on say a day when it is 100F outside? Will it really show that the heat pump is working?

My standard recommendation is to get the unit serviced prior to the heating season. In addition to my general recommendation for annual servicing.

Any help/advice would be greatly appreciated.

The limitations table in the installation instructions does limit operating a heat pump in high ambient conditions. You run the possibility of the unit going off on high pressure. Most tables show 75 degrees F as the max temp on the outdoor coil in heating

If you want to check the heating in high ambient conditions, I suggest running it for just a minute or so, to see that it does switch to heating. If it works good in cooling all you need to see is if it swithes over to heat. Check to see that the filter is clean. If its not remove it for your heating test. If you do these things, I don't think you will have a problem.