Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: trane voyagers

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    NJ
    Posts
    127

    trane voyagers

    Hello, i have to change the high pressure switch on a trane YCD unit,are the hi side pressure ports on these units schradered ?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Jackson, MS
    Posts
    31
    Probably so I usually add a swivel tee to the discharge access and put it on there. No headache and a lot simpler.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    4,235
    Quote Originally Posted by etheric999 View Post
    Hello, i have to change the high pressure switch on a trane YCD unit,are the hi side pressure ports on these units schradered ?
    Go here and do some reading.
    http://hvac-talk.com/vbb/showthread.php?t=1091681
    Make your expertise uniquely valuable.

    Make your influence uniquely far-reaching.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Denver, CO
    Posts
    433
    From my experience new Trane units do not have schraders under the HPS. From the thread jimj linked I was told that there is a new standard as of 2005 that states there can be no valves of any sort between the compressor or condenser (not sure which one) and the HPS. I would either put in a tee like smj recommends or braze on a saddle tap.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Southeastern Pa
    Posts
    16,996
    No cust is going to pay me to recover a unit to change out a hps. So, I will install a swivel on a high side port, mount a new sw on one and use the other for an access. Wire it, test it, done.
    [Avatar photo from a Florida training accident. Everyone walked away.]
    2 Tim 3:16-17

    RSES CMS, HVAC Electrical Specialist

    AOP Forum Rules:







  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Columbus Ohio
    Posts
    1,977
    Quote Originally Posted by timebuilder View Post
    No cust is going to pay me to recover a unit to change out a hps. So, I will install a swivel on a high side port, mount a new sw on one and use the other for an access. Wire it, test it, done.
    I just read the other day on here that OSHA made a law against that because they felt it was putting a valve on a safety device much like putting a valve on say a pressure relief valve on a boiler... Not that anyone can manually close a schrader core.

    I am yet to see any proof of this.

    I treat every pressure switch as if it doesn't have a core behind it. Loosen it and give it the wiggle test as you slowly unscrew it, if it doesn't stop leaking by the time you get down to the last two threads you know you are screwed.
    UA LU189

    10mm, because it's better than .45acp

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event