Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 13 of 26
  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Posts
    11

    Bryant Evolution....any ideas?

    Our company installed a Bryant evolution communicating heat pump system in January. No problems during heating season. Client was very pleased with lower utilities than prior system. I went out for a quality control check when it got warm to adjust puron levels as needed and verify operations. I got the subcooling to the desired 12 degrees it calls for. A week later went back for a no a/c call. Unit went off on high head. I recovered 2 lbs of puron and unit was once again working at correct range (12 degree subcooling and 15 degree superheat). We then got another no a/c call and I found indoor coil frozen over. I let it thaw and ran again and levels checked out fine. I replaced txv due to the issues I was having with refrigertion end. Everything worked fine for a week until today. When I arrived the outdoor unit was running. Head pressure around 80 degrees saturation but the suction was negative 10 degrees. I checked indoor coil and it was frozen over only the bottom half. I ran the unit in heat pump mode to thaw the frozen part of coil. Put back on in a/c and it worked fine. The entire time during all of these issues my airflow was running at 1050 cfms and at .1 total static pressure. What is going on? Can coil be internally plugged at certain areas or what?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    somewhere between here and there
    Posts
    478
    once had a n coil installed without the manual taken out of it.....heating was fine.....cooling...not so much....

    also consider txv failure....not common on properly installed gear.....but....


    Please, Please Please......keep the Factory Smoke in the Wires!!!!!


    Is it Rum'Oclock yet???

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    somewhere between here and there
    Posts
    478
    also...what kind of coil?
    model of coil/furnace/air handler/hp????


    Please, Please Please......keep the Factory Smoke in the Wires!!!!!


    Is it Rum'Oclock yet???

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    State College, PA
    Posts
    1,112

    Very Interesting ..

    Quote Originally Posted by RoperJr View Post
    Our company installed a Bryant evolution communicating heat pump system in January. No problems during heating season. Client was very pleased with lower utilities than prior system. I went out for a quality control check when it got warm to adjust puron levels as needed and verify operations. I got the subcooling to the desired 12 degrees it calls for. A week later went back for a no a/c call. Unit went off on high head. I recovered 2 lbs of puron and unit was once again working at correct range (12 degree subcooling and 15 degree superheat). We then got another no a/c call and I found indoor coil frozen over. I let it thaw and ran again and levels checked out fine. I replaced txv due to the issues I was having with refrigertion end. Everything worked fine for a week until today. When I arrived the outdoor unit was running. Head pressure around 80 degrees saturation but the suction was negative 10 degrees. I checked indoor coil and it was frozen over only the bottom half. I ran the unit in heat pump mode to thaw the frozen part of coil. Put back on in a/c and it worked fine. The entire time during all of these issues my airflow was running at 1050 cfms and at .1 total static pressure. What is going on? Can coil be internally plugged at certain areas or what?
    This is just a wild guess, but at this point I am sure you are getting desperate and would grab at anything that might give you hope of an answer, we have all been there. Anyway, I was thinking some sort of intermittent blower issue. Not sure if is has an ECM or PSC. I have seen this on a PSC and just replaced the capacitor and must have handled it. Never had a call back.

    This would not show up in heat mode as that backup heat would take over. Just not sure why the low heat bills, though.

    Without being able to put my eyeballs on it, that would be my guess. Internet diagnosis is not as easy as some make it look. I could name names, but I won't.
    Can someone please explain to me -
    Why is there never enough time to do it right the first time, but plenty of time to do it twice?


    Please view site rules: http://hvac-talk.com/vbb/showthread.php?t=1241

    Apply for Pro Membership: http://hvac-talk.com/vbb/showthread.php?t=116113

    Find your local HVAC-Talk Contractor: http://icemeister.net/aop_map.html

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    somewhere between here and there
    Posts
    478
    if its communicating...its ecm


    Please, Please Please......keep the Factory Smoke in the Wires!!!!!


    Is it Rum'Oclock yet???

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    State College, PA
    Posts
    1,112
    Quote Originally Posted by BigBacardi View Post
    if its communicating...its ecm
    Thanks for pointing that out.

    DUH??
    Can someone please explain to me -
    Why is there never enough time to do it right the first time, but plenty of time to do it twice?


    Please view site rules: http://hvac-talk.com/vbb/showthread.php?t=1241

    Apply for Pro Membership: http://hvac-talk.com/vbb/showthread.php?t=116113

    Find your local HVAC-Talk Contractor: http://icemeister.net/aop_map.html

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    missouri
    Posts
    180
    I will also take a wild guess, maybe you have a floating restriction and when you shift system into heat mode to thaw coil ,it is flushed back out into the system again. Is the drier installed at the indoor coil?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Posts
    11
    Drier is outside. And I agree with you that when running in heat mode would possibly back flush any restrictions for a little bit of time. Here is the thing, this unit ran in a/c mode all day and only froze the lower section of diagonal coil. Why wouldn't the whole coil freeze? There were no system error alerts. System set at 70 degrees and was 79 in home most of the day. I have a call into local service rep. Gotta love intermittent issues.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    missouri
    Posts
    180
    I would guess only the bottom of the coil froze from not being fed evenly, but just a guess. Let me know what your Tech support guy has to say.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Seattle WA
    Posts
    1,245
    I had this same thing happen with a Rheem unit one time. The home owner already had 3 different techs out and they all threw their hands up. After many fruitless trips we replaced the coil and it worked great. It ended up being a little piece of crap floating around in one of the horizontal tubes in the coil (according to the tech rep)
    America; first we fight for our freedom,
    then we make laws to take it away.

    -Alfred E Newman

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Lancaster PA
    Posts
    68,337
    Next time you go out and its frozen. DO NOT thaw it by putting it in heat mode. Let it thaw with the blower running only. Then run it in cool mode after it thaws, and look at your readings. Check for restricted LLFD, possible restriction in one of the distributors, or coil as said earlier.

    When you thaw by using heat mode, you disturb the restriction/problem, and it doesn't show while your there. You don't want to disturb the problem, so don't thaw by using heat mode.
    Contractor locator map

    How-to-apply-for-Professional

    How many times must one fix something before it is fixed?

  12. #12
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Posts
    11
    Service rep said to change indoor coil and put on another new txv while I was at it. I will let u know the results.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    State College, PA
    Posts
    1,112
    Quote Originally Posted by RoperJr View Post
    Service rep said to change indoor coil and put on another new txv while I was at it. I will let u know the results.
    I am sure that will handle it.
    Can someone please explain to me -
    Why is there never enough time to do it right the first time, but plenty of time to do it twice?


    Please view site rules: http://hvac-talk.com/vbb/showthread.php?t=1241

    Apply for Pro Membership: http://hvac-talk.com/vbb/showthread.php?t=116113

    Find your local HVAC-Talk Contractor: http://icemeister.net/aop_map.html

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event