Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 14 to 26 of 30
  1. #14
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    214
    Most codes should not require a service switch for the indoor section because the wiring going from the outdoor unit to the wall mount is a control circuit. I do understand that it is line voltage.

  2. #15
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    1
    It is nice how you kept it up off the ground.

    I notice Mitsubishi's installation instructions they say to insulate the condensate drain. Does anyone really do that or know why in the world do you need to?

  3. #16
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    San Antonio
    Posts
    4
    How is that working out for you guys, the service switches at the indoor unit. I always thought that the disconnect was supposed to be between the main power line and the outdoor unit, since the outdoor unit feeds power to the indoor unit.

    I heard that if you interrupt power between the two units you will get error messages when you turn the power back on, but if you kill power upstream from the outdoor unit, you will not have any problems.

    Are you guys getting any error messages?

    -chris
    aec.us.com

  4. #17
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Seattle, WA
    Posts
    7,744
    You must break all three wires between the out door unit and indoor unit to meet code, if it applied in your area. There is a special 3 pole double throw switch that can be purchased for this requirement. I forget who makes them but they are easy to find.

    One conductor is used as the info transmitter and that is where the error codes start..if that switch point is not solid. Also, the starting or disconnecting of the power to the unit and/or the inside switch should be done in a specific order in order to lessen the chance of getting an error code.

    I beleive that all of the inside switches should be made before powering up the outside unit first.
    "The American Republic will endure until the day Congress discovers it can bribe the public with the public's own money.
    - Alexis de Toqueville, 1835

  5. #18
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Oxford, UK
    Posts
    336
    Nice install!

    Have found switching the control wire will cause problems over time, theres no current but the voltage ranges up and down to about 70v i think, from both the indoor and outdoor boards so it doesn't take much of a resistance to alter or stop the signal.

    What we have done in the past is run power from the outdoor disconnect to a switch by the indoor unit and then back out to the outdoor unit, that way either switch will remove all power from the system and you are not switching the interconnecting wire which the systems were never designed to have happen.

  6. #19
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Toronto
    Posts
    1,253
    Quote Originally Posted by monkeyspanners View Post
    Nice install!

    Have found switching the control wire will cause problems over time, theres no current but the voltage ranges up and down to about 70v i think, from both the indoor and outdoor boards so it doesn't take much of a resistance to alter or stop the signal.

    What we have done in the past is run power from the outdoor disconnect to a switch by the indoor unit and then back out to the outdoor unit, that way either switch will remove all power from the system and you are not switching the interconnecting wire which the systems were never designed to have happen.
    Ha, Jon, never seen anyone do that here.....

  7. #20
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Houston area
    Posts
    1,493
    I'll bet they're gonna hang out in that garage and drink beer.

    Nice, clean work!
    The picture in my avatar is of the Houston Ship Channel and was taken from my backyard. I like to sit outside and slap mosquitos while watching countless supertankers, barges and cargo ships of every shape and size carry all sorts of deadly toxins to and fro. It's really beautiful at times.....just don't eat the three eyed fish....

    `. .` .>(((>

    `... `. .` .>(((>

    .` .>(((>

    LMAOSHMSFOAIDMT

  8. #21
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    Oregon
    Posts
    2
    Quote Originally Posted by DeltaT View Post
    You must break all three wires between the out door unit and indoor unit to meet code, if it applied in your area. There is a special 3 pole double throw switch that can be purchased for this requirement. I forget who makes them but they are easy to find.

    One conductor is used as the info transmitter and that is where the error codes start..if that switch point is not solid. Also, the starting or disconnecting of the power to the unit and/or the inside switch should be done in a specific order in order to lessen the chance of getting an error code.

    I beleive that all of the inside switches should be made before powering up the outside unit first.
    Code in most places is the switch must be visible from the fan unit, and within 50' of it. That pretty much makes it have to go inside the home. I read a post on an electrical site where the electrician would actually cover up the switch with sheetrock (Ha ha...!) Here's a cut-n-paste pic from the Mitsubishi Installation manual (with my comments added).
    The Levitron switch is about $44 on Amazon.


    This is what the electrician actually said... Click here for the web post
    Another mactip of the day! Here is what I do when wiring mini split ac's during the rough in of a new house or addition. Either like I mentioned about running the feed thru the interior switch, or.... sometimes I just run 14-3 control cable in and out unspliced thru one of those adjustable depth single gang boxes that I normally use for granite countertop rough in to ensure the depth gets correct. Remember it is one continuous run of 14-3 in and out of the same switch box, with the proper length folded up inside the box. Next step, carefully mark the exact location of the box on your plans, how high and how many inches from the nearest corner. Next and best part- adjust the box so it doesn't stick out from the framing at all. leave a note for the drywall guy to leave it like that and bury over it with his wallboard. Trim out the house as usual, put a lockable disco on the outside at the compressor so a tag out, lock out can be performed and it will shut all power to the inside fan units. (good enough for me ) . At final, if the inspector throws a fit about where is the fan disco, blame the drywall guy and open up the wall where the switch box is. Say something derogatory about drywall hangers, and explain that if you only saw the box that they obviously buried, you never would have forgotten to install your thirty five dollar three pole switch to cut all lines to the 2 amp fan coil.........................

  9. #22
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    south jersey
    Posts
    1,096
    That is funny. We sometimes use the 3-pole switches when we have to.
    You need to put the phone down and get back to work!

  10. #23
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    Macomb Twp MI
    Posts
    50
    Good work

  11. #24
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Auburn, New York
    Posts
    241
    We are Mitsubushi Diamond Contractors in our area. Those wall brackets give acceptable clearance, good looking job. Put a lot of these in.
    once you think you know everything, you'll never learn another thing!

  12. #25
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    24
    There is no minimum line set length on a M series Mitsubishi units.
    Mitsubishi makes a 3 pole switch part number TAZ-MS303 for an indoor service switch and its up to local code.

  13. #26
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    Oregon
    Posts
    2
    Quote Originally Posted by auwing View Post
    There is no minimum line set length on a M series Mitsubishi units.
    Mitsubishi makes a 3 pole switch part number TAZ-MS303 for an indoor service switch and its up to local code.
    The TAZ-MS303 is often full of "un-obtainium" and is simply the overpriced version of the Leviton MS303-DS (the latter is less expensive and more easily obtainable). Just sayin'

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event