Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Universal Capacitors

Has anyone had problems using these "Universal Capacitors"? I have been using these Universal Motor-Mate Permenant Motor Run Capacitors part number municap200 (motor-rundirect.com). They are rated from 2.5mfd to 67.5 mfd 370VAC or 440VAC 40c-70c operating temp. range. I carry these universal capacitors for emergency calls and have used several of them on split systems for a "Dual Capacitor" for the compressor/condenser fan run capacitors. I have set the capacitor up correctly to the manufacurers directions and even test each capacitor to make sure they read the same mfd as the capacitor I am changing. I have been using these for 2 years now and I have had to go back and change every one I have installed with in a year or less. I date the capacitors with a marker when I change them and write the mfd ratings down. I have since been stocking the fixed capacity run capacitors such as 35/5mfd 45/5mfd 35/7.5mfd, and have been using them instead of the universal capacitors, and I have not had to change one of the fixed value capacitors. I do stock a couple of the universal capacitors just in case I run into one I do not have but i go back and put in the fixed value capacitors as soon as I get them in if I have used any of the universal ones. I have been in contact with my supplier and a few different sales reps and no one has heard of this problem but I have also asked several other service techs and most of them have not used the universal capacitors yet. I also e-mailed the manufacturer about the problem as these capacitors are supposed to have a 5 year warranty on them but have not had any reply from the manufacturer on this matter, it was about 3 weeks ago I e-mailed them. Has any one else had problems with these capacitors? I think the biggest failure of these capacitors is the heat as they all are bulged at the top and bottom, I noticed the fixed value capacitors have a higher operating temp range,but it is only 10c more