Chiller High Pressure Fault
Results 1 to 11 of 11
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    9

    Chiller High Pressure Fault

    Hi,

    Need your help again, I have this FreezeCo chiller faulting out on "Compressor High Pressure" alarm.
    Refrigerant : R22
    Compressor : 1
    Application : Cooling process coolant
    Condensor : Very clean, no blockage to air flow

    It has In built High Pressure gauge showing 230 PSI, Low pressure gauge showing 45 PSI. When I connect my gauges it shows 330 PSI and 145 PSI. Also it faults out at the end of the cycle when thermostat is satisfied and compressor is about to turn off. In built High pressure gauge needle will start shaking, unit will fault out and compressor stops. Can not read model number or serial number on the unit.

    Any help will be greatly appreciated.
    Josh

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Chicago area
    Posts
    1,439

    Intersing

    That both readings are 100 psi lower on the machine.

    145 suction? was the machine running?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    9
    Quote Originally Posted by heatingman View Post
    That both readings are 100 psi lower on the machine.

    145 suction? was the machine running?
    Yes difference is 100 PSI, yes unit was running and was close to set point

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    16
    you are running those pressures? inspects ... condenser fan rotation, high pressure switch (I spend a failed me I changed by high pressure) filter dryer that is not clogged expansion valve sensing bulb that is in good condition. connect your gauges and compare them with the machine
    I hope I was helpful .. regards

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    1,110
    Any chance someone might have worked on it before you and charged the chiller using the on board gauges? It's strange that both gauges would be off by 100 psig. What's the temperature of the discharge?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Mid-Mo
    Posts
    3,588
    Seems to me that you might be overcharged if this happens while it's pumping down? Assuming it is a pumpdown system What refrigerant is this?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    The Hot South
    Posts
    1,288
    There's now way the chiller could be making setpoint running on R-22 with 145 PSI suction pressure unless the set point is over 85 degrees.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    9
    Quote Originally Posted by R123 View Post
    There's now way the chiller could be making setpoint running on R-22 with 145 PSI suction pressure unless the set point is over 85 degrees.
    Thanks to everybody for help. I ended up replacing High Pressure Control and Chiller is working just fine now with 270 high and 87 suction pressures.

    Thanks once again,

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Portland. Oregon
    Posts
    2
    HAve any of you heard of a system called ClimaCheck PA PRo Performance analyzer?

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    9
    Sorry have't heard about it before, what is it?

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Prattville, Alabama
    Posts
    1,966
    Quote Originally Posted by EES West View Post
    HAve any of you heard of a system called ClimaCheck PA PRo Performance analyzer?
    Yes, when you advertised it in another thread. Read the site rules.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event