Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 13 of 29
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Hammond,La.
    Posts
    1,176

    Confused Scotsman CME506as Bin Full elect. eye. question

    Went to check out a friends ice maker ( CME506as) and right off I notice the bin full light is on yet the bin is only half full. Have reset, unplugged, tried to disconnect the send and receive plugs from the controller, etc. Any way to bypass these 'electronic eyes' till the new set comes in? He can fill the bin and then shut off the water to keep from jamming it too full if so.

    I also notice that the compressor never seemed to come on to keep what ice was in there frozen. Not sure if this is a timed event or a sensor somewhere.

    Once reset it would run for a minute and then shut completely off. Is it possible that if the bin is seen as full it doesn't refrigerate?

    elect water valve sticks flowing water too sometimes but that is the easy part.. I don't work on these so I just don't know what makes them tick so to speak or how to con it into working for now.
    "I am for doing good to the poor, but I differ in opinion of the means. I think the best way of doing good to the poor, is not making them easy in poverty, but leading or driving them out of it."
    Benjamin Franklin, 1766

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Chicago, IL
    Posts
    4,567
    The eyes need to be cleaned with vinegar and then they will work fine 90% of the time.

    The compressor does not chill the bin. It just makes ice and the melting ice keeps itself cold. If the compressor chilled the bin the ice would freeze into a giant block

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    6,816
    Did you try to clean the eyes ?
    Thanks craig1 you beat me to it :-)
    Also the compressor will shut down momentarily on start-up.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    State College, PA
    Posts
    1,170
    Quote Originally Posted by craig1 View Post
    The eyes need to be cleaned with vinegar and then they will work fine 90% of the time.
    That has been my experience as well.

    Calcium can build up on the eyes and give the controller the "bin full" signal.
    Can someone please explain to me -
    Why is there never enough time to do it right the first time, but plenty of time to do it twice?


    Please view site rules: http://hvac-talk.com/vbb/showthread.php?t=1241

    Apply for Pro Membership: http://hvac-talk.com/vbb/showthread.php?t=116113

    Find your local HVAC-Talk Contractor: http://icemeister.net/aop_map.html

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Hammond,La.
    Posts
    1,176
    Thanks all.

    I wasn't sure if the compartment was supposed to be chilled or not. The thing becoming a block of ice makes a lot of sense now that you mention it.

    I didn't find out the sensors were electronic eyes and not some micro switch until I got back and with the details and pulled up a parts list. I did notice a calcium build up on the paddles.

    Thanks again for the quick response. I'll get out there and clean them up and see how it goes before I have to start my daily resi grind. lol
    "I am for doing good to the poor, but I differ in opinion of the means. I think the best way of doing good to the poor, is not making them easy in poverty, but leading or driving them out of it."
    Benjamin Franklin, 1766

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    NW AR
    Posts
    2,478
    Havnt had to replace any eyes but have had to clean tons. Over and over and over. Stupid design IMO

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    State College, PA
    Posts
    1,170

    I think - Great Design

    Quote Originally Posted by ar_hvac_man View Post
    Havnt had to replace any eyes but have had to clean tons. Over and over and over. Stupid design IMO
    Job security.
    Can someone please explain to me -
    Why is there never enough time to do it right the first time, but plenty of time to do it twice?


    Please view site rules: http://hvac-talk.com/vbb/showthread.php?t=1241

    Apply for Pro Membership: http://hvac-talk.com/vbb/showthread.php?t=116113

    Find your local HVAC-Talk Contractor: http://icemeister.net/aop_map.html

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Hammond,La.
    Posts
    1,176
    Got there this morning and brushed them down with a soft tooth brush and vinegar and it works like new again.
    "I am for doing good to the poor, but I differ in opinion of the means. I think the best way of doing good to the poor, is not making them easy in poverty, but leading or driving them out of it."
    Benjamin Franklin, 1766

  9. #9
    Maybe level sensor damaged

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Hammond,La.
    Posts
    1,176
    Update on this cranky thing.. Works fine for a week or few and then decides to quit. Got there and the refrigeration trouble light is on but the water fill valve was running wide open. Tap the valve with a screw driver and it closes. Reset the controller and sat and drank coffee while it made 3 batches of ice with no faults. Three days later is still working fine.

    Shouldn't the water trouble light be on if it was shut down for excess water passing through the valve? For a refrigeration light on steady no blinks it says check discharge pressure or for max freeze time or something. What is this discharge pressure it is saying to check? Anyone have a manual for this unit they wouldn't mind pointing me toward?

    This unit belongs to a friend and I am only working on it for the experience, free coffee, and to help him out. lol
    "I am for doing good to the poor, but I differ in opinion of the means. I think the best way of doing good to the poor, is not making them easy in poverty, but leading or driving them out of it."
    Benjamin Franklin, 1766

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    NE Alabama
    Posts
    301
    This unit has a normally closed water solenoid valve. If you tapped it and it closed then there was either trash in the valve or it is sticking open. There is a rebuild kit for this valve , but it is my experience that changing the valve is the best course of action. I think the water light reacts to low water and if there is too much water the refrigeration fault shows because of long freeze times.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Hammond,La.
    Posts
    1,176
    Thanks for clearing that up. The valve does stick and I will pick up a whole valve this week for him. I just couldn't tie the refrigeration light to a water valve issue. Glad to learn something yet again with this!

    Thanks again guy's
    "I am for doing good to the poor, but I differ in opinion of the means. I think the best way of doing good to the poor, is not making them easy in poverty, but leading or driving them out of it."
    Benjamin Franklin, 1766

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Goose Creek ,SC
    Posts
    254
    I have had to replace the eyes twice on this one machine with really really hard scaly water . it had the tiniest crack and would work great after I cleaned it until build up got into the crack again. I would look for small crack in the eyes and learn how to disassemble the thing and make sure it is clean . Clean eyes or not . it aint gonna make crap if its dirty. If it has the electronic control box ,there is not a way to bypass them. They see the ice as it is harvesting and use this to help determine harvest time.
    Gas and go does not apply to refrigeration

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event