Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 14 to 25 of 25
  1. #14
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Western PA
    Posts
    25,567
    Quote Originally Posted by commtech77

    Timers were checked during PMs.

    You can imagine we thought of telling the gas station attendents to wait. You might as well try and have a conversation with the Slurpee machine.
    Sorry, but I'm not responsible for their stupidity, and I charge extra to fix it.

  2. #15
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    The Pas, Manitoba Canada
    Posts
    212
    Sounds like a " A/C is too cold fire up the furnace crew" working. They are good for business.

  3. #16
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Southeastern Pa
    Posts
    18,346
    Quote Originally Posted by jpsmith1cm View Post
    I use nothing but manual reset controls.

    Yes, they create a lockout condition but, without that, sometimes, you'd never know that there was a problem.
    I LOVE that red button!!!!!!!
    [Avatar photo from a Florida training accident. Everyone walked away.]
    2 Tim 3:16-17

    RSES CMS, HVAC Electrical Specialist

    AOP Forum Rules:







  4. #17
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    4,381
    Could be worse .. there's guys out there that find open pressure switches & say the switch is bad not even knowing what the pressure is

  5. #18
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Chicagoland Area
    Posts
    4,579
    Quote Originally Posted by hvac wiz 79 View Post
    Could be worse .. there's guys out there that find open pressure switches & say the switch is bad not even knowing what the pressure is
    When in doubt, jump it out
    Officially, Down for the count

    YOU HAVE TO GET OFF YOUR ASS TO GET ON YOUR FEET

    I know enough to know, I don't know enough
    Liberalism-Ideas so good they mandate them

  6. #19
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Western PA
    Posts
    25,567
    Quote Originally Posted by hvac wiz 79 View Post
    Could be worse .. there's guys out there that find open pressure switches & say the switch is bad not even knowing what the pressure is
    I flipped on a guy once for telling me "It was tripping on high pressure, so I just adjusted the switch a little to stop it"



  7. #20
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    6,232
    Quote Originally Posted by jpsmith1cm View Post
    I flipped on a guy once for telling me "It was tripping on high pressure, so I just adjusted the switch a little to stop it"


    Did you adjust it to 500 ?

  8. #21
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Jackson, MS
    Posts
    33
    I've always been in favor of protecting the system. With manual resets it may cause emergency calls but it eliminates most of the ( well its been acting up for 2 weeks ) calls that auto resets gives you and I don't mind the ot.

  9. #22
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    San Diego
    Posts
    66

    High head pressure

    It seems in my case the previous techs and owner just ignored the problem becasue of the automatic switch. I even had the relief valve blow because one of the switches failed from too much cycling. After installing a manual switch it put the owners feet to the fire. It looks like their gonna fit in a new condenser in the next budget.

  10. #23
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Rochester, NY
    Posts
    61
    I prefer manual reset myself. If it trips...that means it tripped for a reason and the problem needs to be addressed to prevent anymore potential damage to the system.

    It helps us techs cover our a**. There has been many times in my experience where the client is aware the system isn't working properly, but still working intermittently and short cycling, and they'll wait a week to call in for service because they think it will magically fix itself. I've seen it too many times. And it's usually at 3 o'clock on a Friday when they call in and they need it fixed now!!!

    Auto reset is okay for trouble shooting or used temporarily while the real issue is addressed. But when the job is done and I walk away, I make sure it's set for manual.

  11. #24
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    FLORIDA
    Posts
    2
    I am old school i use manual reset,

  12. #25
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    winnipeg
    Posts
    1,330
    yep me to..... if you won't pay to clean condensers your gonna pay for the emergency call........ let me do maintenance i will install auto re sets.....
    it was working.... played with it.... now its broke.... whats the going hourly rate for HVAC repair

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event