Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    1,394

    Freezer defrost wiring

    Freezer wizards-

    I recently came across a Victory freezer that controlled the defrost heater by switching the neutral side of the heater.

    Drove me batty with an intermitent grounded element. Sometimes the box would barely freeze.

    I never recall seeing this configuration before, Is this common?

    I don't repair many freezers and usually have to read the schematic to understand the defrost circuit.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Loris SC
    Posts
    208
    Without a model number or schematic of the box its hard to say, but I'd say no its not common. I don't think I ever seen a neutral broke as a factory wiring job. My guess would be someone was in there doing some rewiring.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    1,394
    No, factory wired. I obtained the schematic.

    I don't understand manufactures that can't plaster a durable wiring diagram on their equipment. How much productivity is lost because no schematic is on the equipment.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    Guayaquil EC
    Posts
    10,478
    Victory's website has an excellent section on service/parts manuals for their equipment. Is the model you were working on listed here?

    http://www.victoryrefrigeration.com/...hnical-manuals

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    1,394
    Victory website is very good, only if you carry a laptop with you.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    The Pas, Manitoba Canada
    Posts
    231
    Quote Originally Posted by timjimbob View Post
    No, factory wired. I obtained the schematic.

    I don't understand manufactures that can't plaster a durable wiring diagram on their equipment. How much productivity is lost because no schematic is on the equipment.
    If it doesn't stay broke they won't be able to replace it.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    SE Texas
    Posts
    460
    Quote Originally Posted by timjimbob View Post
    No, factory wired. I obtained the schematic.

    I don't understand manufactures that can't plaster a durable wiring diagram on their equipment. How much productivity is lost because no schematic is on the equipment.
    Because, if they're like Hobart, the don't want you working on it. They want their guys working on it.
    With your chrome heart shining in the sun, long may you run.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    509
    breaking neutral is a safety hazard. You should rewire it to break hot.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event