Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
Results 27 to 39 of 51

Thread: Trane RTAC

  1. #27
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    NEW JERSEY
    Posts
    40
    Check the accurracy of your pressure transducers, especialloy the intermediate oil. Just valve off and remove, make sure it reads 0 on the ch530
    Attached Files Attached Files

  2. #28
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Virginia
    Posts
    1,144
    Thanks, I will do that.

    Thank You VERY much for the doc!!! Exactly what I was looking for!

    Question:
    In an email from someone here I was told the oil filter was part # FLR03434
    but the manual above states that the oil filter part # is FLR01650
    Does one superscede the other? I am a bit confused.

    You also wouldnt happen to have the part number for the transducer would you? Just incase it is it, I won't have to go through all this again...

    Thanks!
    “It is impossible for one to learn what one thinks they already know"

  3. #29
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    NEW JERSEY
    Posts
    40
    That's an old service bulletin. While operation is the same, part numbers have changed.
    Bit of advice. Typically if the filters are going to restrict flow it is usually soon after startup (copper shavings, slag). If the sensors (evap, cond, and oil) are all good then follow the oil flow chart (Pc-Pi/Pc-Pe). Dirty condenser or flow issues can effect this diagnostic.

    As far as the sensor, hate to say it, but the only way to look it up is with the unit serial number.

  4. #30
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    ottawa canada
    Posts
    2,058
    Quote Originally Posted by R123 View Post
    I forgot about that.....I shouldn't have opened my big mouth.
    You have to keep this really quiet ...............dont tell anyone I told you this but .....................you know that little red light on the UCP2 panels .......................yeah yeah yeah....that little red warning alarm one .......ssssssshhhhhhhhhhh
    Its actually ..........is anyone listening .........ok ssshhh its an iris scanner .
    Everyone who stands in front of the control panel gets scanned , downoladed to Tracer and sent to Momma Tranes data base and and .... okay sssh I can tell you anymore its just toooooooo scary ....!!!!!!!!!!
    The 64 roars to life Whoo hoo ...shes a rolling chassis .
    You bend em" I"ll mend em" !!!!!!!
    I"m not a service tech.. I"m a thermodynamic transfer analyst & strategic system sustainability specialist
    Best Austin Healey In Show twice in 2013 .....All those hrs paid off .

  5. #31
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Virginia
    Posts
    1,144
    Quote Originally Posted by Zeke XI View Post
    That's an old service bulletin. While operation is the same, part numbers have changed.
    Bit of advice. Typically if the filters are going to restrict flow it is usually soon after startup (copper shavings, slag). If the sensors (evap, cond, and oil) are all good then follow the oil flow chart (Pc-Pi/Pc-Pe). Dirty condenser or flow issues can effect this diagnostic.

    As far as the sensor, hate to say it, but the only way to look it up is with the unit serial number.
    Thanks for the great info!
    “It is impossible for one to learn what one thinks they already know"

  6. #32
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    The Hot South
    Posts
    1,316
    Quote Originally Posted by codewriter View Post
    Thanks to the person who emailed me the oil filter and gasket part number!

    Anyone know the others? Really need the Evap Leaving Water Temp sensor. It's the flat cable type, insertion well mounted.

    Thanks!
    SEN01959
    And
    KIT12559

  7. #33
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    utah
    Posts
    106
    thats good stuff. while i agree the serial number is necessary it has led to problems in the past. I called about a part with pricing and availability, gave the serial # and by the time I got back to the customer they allready had a price from trane even though trane had no knowledge of the problem. after a few choice words and phone calls the trane bid was pulled and an apology given. I have also had this problem with the dunham bush rep (only no apology). since then I always try to stay away from giving the serial #. obviosly not a common practice just saying it does happen.

  8. #34
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Paper Street Soap Company
    Posts
    2,304
    I have been giving them serial #s for years and never suspected they would do that. The managent companies I work with wouldn't be impressed at all with a rogue call from another contractor.

  9. #35
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    The Hot South
    Posts
    1,316
    Quote Originally Posted by nique View Post
    thats good stuff. while i agree the serial number is necessary it has led to problems in the past. I called about a part with pricing and availability, gave the serial # and by the time I got back to the customer they allready had a price from trane even though trane had no knowledge of the problem. after a few choice words and phone calls the trane bid was pulled and an apology given. I have also had this problem with the dunham bush rep (only no apology). since then I always try to stay away from giving the serial #. obviosly not a common practice just saying it does happen.
    If that truly happened, than a call to the higher up's in Trane is warranted. In my area, the parts dept and service dept are treated as 2 seperate companies.

  10. #36
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Prattville, Alabama
    Posts
    2,065
    Quote Originally Posted by R123 View Post
    If that truly happened, than a call to the higher up's in Trane is warranted. In my area, the parts dept and service dept are treated as 2 seperate companies.
    Same here. Or where I used to be. Heck, we couldn't even get service salesmen to talk to us techs about jobs we were both involved with sometimes. And I don't think they ever talked with the parts guys, except maybe for pricing parts.

  11. #37
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    7

    trane rtac oil filter/check valve

    Hey guys,I'm doing my first oil filter change on a cchh compressor - question is; with the oil check valve,can I clean it successfully or just change it out - I don't want to open her up more than once due to POE oil.......

  12. #38
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    The Hot South
    Posts
    1,316
    The check valve is virtually maintenance-free and almost never has problems. I'd leave it alone.

    Why are you changing the oil filter? Are you having issues or are you doing it on a PM?

  13. #39
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    7
    R123,I have had multiple low oil pressure failure faults on one of two chillers I service.The refrigerant charge is good,all sensors check out good,oil level is good,loading seguence is good,not sure on oil solenoid though.This Tuesday I will check oil return strainer,pull oil filter,and install new check valve and filter.Majority of techs I talk to led me down this route of repair,and had success in doing this repair.

Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event