Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

looking for a leak detector

I am in the market for a leak detector. I am still kinda new in the field so I am looking for recommendations. One thing tho....I will NOT be purchasing anything from Inficon!!! I bought a Whisper and tried it on over 5 different leaks and it didn't pick up a thing. When I tried it return it to my local United Refrigeration they said it couldn't be returned because it had been used. How was I supposed to know it doesn't work without using it!! I've tried calling Inficon but they say it works fine even tho it obviously doesn't. So now I have to purchase a new leak detector so I am looking for advice. I would like to have one that runs on batteries and will detect 22 and 410A. Thanks in advance for any help.

well as of right now I think the fieldpiece srl2 detector is at the top of my list. would like to hear opinions tho

A couple things. Use the search tab in the upper right. There are a bazzilion threads on leak detectors. Personally I really like the inficon dtek select. I've had 3 over 5 years and they all worked well. I recently purchased a tif zx based off of good reviews on other threads but haven't really had a chance to use it. Lastly don't forget about the bacharach h10pm.

In regaards to the whisper. Don't give up on it yet. Leak detectors are only as good as their operator. Leak detection is an art... it will take lots of practice.

H-10PM

Charge, calibrate, find leak, repeat as needed.

Dtek and all others that I've tried do not compare to the h-10.

thnx but jeep like i said there is no way in hell im buying any inficon products. I know im using it properly and my lead tech has tried it and my boss has tried it and together they have over 45 years experience and it hasnt turned up a single leak. and since their customer service blows me off im done with them forever.

Quote Originally Posted by nacoomer