Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 14 to 22 of 22
  1. #14
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Jurupa Valley, CA
    Posts
    1,658
    I'm of the opinion every low pressure chiller should have a water heater permanently installed.. :-) Still, I agree that the system is telling you the problem. Excessive purge is a clear sign of a leak. What it isn't a clear sign of is how much of a leak.

  2. #15
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Southern California
    Posts
    16
    JAYGUY said it right when he said to check pressures with a gauge first... this is one of weakness of Trane. They use a temperature sensor to convert to pressure. According to the display, your chiller will never have air in it.

    My most common experience is that the connections under the economizer are the weakest link (where the metering orifices are), followed by the suction elbow.

  3. #16
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Prattville, Alabama
    Posts
    1,992
    Yeah, converting temperature to obtain a pressure reading, especially on a low pressure chiller, is not very reliable. The OP has an Adaptiview, which my latest literature shows the condenser pressure transducer to be optional - like it was on the UCP2. I always found it to be a crapshoot as to whether a UCP2 chiller would have it ordered. I have always seen the transducer present on the CH530 and Adaptiview chillers. I'm wondering, have any of ya'll ever seen a CH530 or Adaptiview without that transducer? Or is it actually standard?

  4. #17
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    ottawa canada
    Posts
    2,016
    [QUOTE=CTI2010;13264421]JAYGUY said it right when he said to check pressures with a gauge first... this is one of weakness of Trane. They use a temperature sensor to convert to pressure. According to the display, your chiller will never have air in it.

    Not strictly correct .
    The chiller may have the transducer option .
    He does say he has a tracer adaptiview . So look at the oil pressure transducer reading , compare it to the evap or condenser temp sensor pressure conversion and you will have your answer .
    The 64 roars to life Whoo hoo ...shes a rolling chassis .
    You bend em" I"ll mend em" !!!!!!!
    I"m not a service tech.. I"m a thermodynamic transfer analyst & strategic system sustainability specialist
    Best Austin Healey In Show twice in 2013 .....All those hrs paid off .

  5. #18
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    The Hot South
    Posts
    1,297
    Quote Originally Posted by Nuclrchiller View Post
    Yeah, converting temperature to obtain a pressure reading, especially on a low pressure chiller, is not very reliable. The OP has an Adaptiview, which my latest literature shows the condenser pressure transducer to be optional - like it was on the UCP2. I always found it to be a crapshoot as to whether a UCP2 chiller would have it ordered. I have always seen the transducer present on the CH530 and Adaptiview chillers. I'm wondering, have any of ya'll ever seen a CH530 or Adaptiview without that transducer? Or is it actually standard?
    There are many without it.

  6. #19
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Jurupa Valley, CA
    Posts
    1,658
    Also depends on the age. Our 2 1985 and 3 1990 tranes all have mechanical gauges. It's only the newer computerized ones that went with the temperature conversion method.

  7. #20
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Prattville, Alabama
    Posts
    1,992
    Quote Originally Posted by R123 View Post
    There are many without it.
    Thanks, R123. Although I'm disappointed to learn that it is an option.

  8. #21
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    The Hot South
    Posts
    1,297
    Quote Originally Posted by Nuclrchiller View Post
    Thanks, R123. Although I'm disappointed to learn that it is an option.
    It's a simple process to add the HP transducer. Just install the transducer, add a wye (if it has the plugable connectors), select high pressure transducer in configuration settings, & bind the sensor.

  9. #22
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Prattville, Alabama
    Posts
    1,992
    Quote Originally Posted by R123 View Post
    It's a simple process to add the HP transducer. Just install the transducer, add a wye (if it has the plugable connectors), select high pressure transducer in configuration settings, & bind the sensor.
    Agreed. And even easier to add one to a UCP2 chiller. However, not too easy to sell a customer on adding a part to his new chiller. And as much as I prefer to have it, I ain't buying it for them!

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event