Results 1 to 11 of 11
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    52

    Looking for Metasys help please...

    I have a problem. I have replaced three UNT-111-1s on a Metasys system (NAE) and downloaded the program using the CVT101 without a problem. Unfortunately, the original UNTs are still on the trunk as "offline". How do I get the NAE to recognized the new UNTs please? Thank you in advance for your help. I am an FX type and know just enough about Metasys to be dangerous.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    392
    Did you set the address on the UNT's to match the addresses in the NAE database?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Connecticut
    Posts
    923
    If you did what controlgeek said and it still won't communicate, then right click on the controller and disable it, then re-enable it. You might have to goose it a little.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    52

    Metasys problem

    Quote Originally Posted by controlgeek View Post
    Did you set the address on the UNT's to match the addresses in the NAE database?
    Yes, I set the new UNTs to the same address as the previous controllers. I reset the NAE in the hope that they would get discovered after restart, but no dice. I didn't disable/enable the devices, but I did try just enabling. I will try disabling first tomorrow. A buddy of mine told me to try running HVAC Pro through the front-end, but I get a message that says this workstation is not setup for tunneling. He also said to delete the originals and do a bus-scan (?). Does that sound right? I appreciate any help. Thank you.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    675

    N2 Bus

    Quote Originally Posted by Controlsman01 View Post
    Yes, I set the new UNTs to the same address as the previous controllers. I reset the NAE in the hope that they would get discovered after restart, but no dice. I didn't disable/enable the devices, but I did try just enabling. I will try disabling first tomorrow. A buddy of mine told me to try running HVAC Pro through the front-end, but I get a message that says this workstation is not setup for tunneling. He also said to delete the originals and do a bus-scan (?). Does that sound right? I appreciate any help. Thank you.
    Under the NAE, open the N2 bus in the main window. Click on the engineering tab. It might come up with a auto-discovery window say Yes. If it doesn't click on the Relean button. This will scan your N2 trunk and see if it comes up with your 3 UNT's. Then click on the top of this tree (which is the N2 ) and in the window will appear with all the controllers. Check the N2 address and the status.

    Then check the diagnostic tab for Offline Polls. This should be 0 - if not then those devices are indeed offline.

    let me know what happens

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    52

    Thank you!

    Quote Originally Posted by integrator View Post
    Under the NAE, open the N2 bus in the main window. Click on the engineering tab. It might come up with a auto-discovery window say Yes. If it doesn't click on the Relean button. This will scan your N2 trunk and see if it comes up with your 3 UNT's. Then click on the top of this tree (which is the N2 ) and in the window will appear with all the controllers. Check the N2 address and the status.

    Then check the diagnostic tab for Offline Polls. This should be 0 - if not then those devices are indeed offline.

    let me know what happens
    Great stuff! Thank you for your help! I'll let you know tomorrow what happens. Have a good night!

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    2444 Washington Blvd, Suite 100 Ogden, UT
    Posts
    363
    It sounds like you are getting some great advice. If the above actions do not bring the devices online then start looking towards a possible wiring problem with the N2 bus or a repeater on the bus that has gone bad. Check the physical location of the devices on the bus. If they are all three at the end of the bus this will be a strong hint that something is wrong immediately prior to that point on the bus. Another thing to confirm is that you got to polarity correct when you connected the N2 devices to the bus.

    If you have the ComBus Quick Tester or the S Squared S2USB485 and their diagnostic software these tools can help you with the analysis. Using HVAC Pro as a diagnostic tool could also be useful. Connect it to the N2 bus through a serial port and ask for a devices report. This will scan the bus and list all devices that it can access.
    Steve Jones
    Managing Partner
    The S4 Group, Inc.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    chicago
    Posts
    115
    It's been a while, but I think you have to cycle power on the UNT after changing the DIP switch addresses.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    2444 Washington Blvd, Suite 100 Ogden, UT
    Posts
    363
    Confirmed. You do need to power cycle the unit after changing the address switches.
    Quote Originally Posted by chewlak View Post
    It's been a while, but I think you have to cycle power on the UNT after changing the DIP switch addresses.
    Steve Jones
    Managing Partner
    The S4 Group, Inc.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    52
    Thank you everyone for your quick responses! Just to update, all is up and running! The original UNT controllers that I replaced were UNT-110-1's. I replaced them with UNT 111-1 controllers. I pulled the N2 off the terminal block without paying attention to the configuration of the N2 wire colors because everybody knows that red is plus and black is minus right? Not in this case. It appears that the original installer felt that it was better to make black the N2+ and red the N2-. After reversing the leads the controllers came right up. I wish it were a deeper problem, but I have to be honest. I learned a good amount more about Metasys thanks to all of you.

    Thank you!

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    2444 Washington Blvd, Suite 100 Ogden, UT
    Posts
    363
    You're welcome. I'm glad that we could be of help.
    Steve Jones
    Managing Partner
    The S4 Group, Inc.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event