Greenhouse chiller system

Hello!

This is a bit of a lengthy post because I want to try to anticipate questions and provide answers. I am not an HVAC professional, but I have read about refrigeration with an intent of designing my own systems. I am handy, having built a house and am building a greenhouse/pool structure now. I have a strong technical background in science and have worked a number of years doing laboratory research.

My current interest is to build a chiller system for my greenhouse (approximately 30x90 or around 2,700 sqft) where the waste heat goes into the pool (around 35K gallons). The pool (which has a conventional roof with an R-value of around 30 and walls with an R-value of around 20) and greenhouse occupy the same air space and my intention is to try and do some daily ‘load leveling’ where night-time heat is provided by radiation from the pool. The greenhouse covering is a 6 layer polycarbonate with a stated R-value of 3.7 and a transparency of 58%. According to my research the summer sun peaks at around 277 BTU/sqft/hr and with 58% transmission, that means 160 BTU/sqft/hr enters the greenhouse. I understand that essentially all of that is converted to heat, so the peak load would be on the order of 430K BTU/hr or around 36 tons. If it factors in, the zip code where the construction is going on is 22847 in the Shenandoah Valley of Virginia. The house is located in a bit of a frost pocket and it is fairly common for night-time temps to drop into the mid to lower 60’s even in July and August so there exists the potential for nighttime heating even during the summer. My plan is to experiment with aquaponics in the greenhouse and grow tilapia which also need water temps in the 80s, so there is another at least 6K gallons of water that can act as a heat reservoir if needed.