Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    I've received 3 bids.

1) Ruud; 14 seer; 3-ton (I've requested a quote on a 3-1/2 ton) - this is the guy I've been using for 15-20 years.
    3) Lennox; 13 seer; 3-1/2 ton - this bidder suggested I go 3-1/2 ton for the hottest texas summer days.
    2) Trane; 13 seer; 3-ton - this bidder wants me to add on a heat pump and variable speed - he gave bids for a 13xr and a 19xl

Bids in order of cost.

Suggestions? I do want to make sure it stays cold in the summer; never have had trouble keeping it warm in the winter.

Thanks!
    Dave

where you at in cowtown

dfwdave

Maybe I missed it but what is the size of your present equipment and does it keep you cool?

jdb

Originally posted by jdb52
    dfwdave

Maybe I missed it but what is the size of your present equipment and does it keep you cool?

jdb

2-1/2 tons; the hottest days, it won't cool lower than 80 degrees - never did.

Originally posted by rednecktech
    where you at in cowtown
    Near Crowley

14 seer, 3 tone TRANE.

Dave,

I am homeowner and can only take you so far in this discussion, but at this point the usual question is, Did anyone perform a heat gain and loss calculation on your home? If you are undersized for cooling, then it's hard to know whether you need a 3 or 3.5 ton unit without that.

jdb

Originally posted by dfwdave
    I've received 3 bids.

1) Ruud; 14 seer; 3-ton (I've requested a quote on a 3-1/2 ton) - this is the guy I've been using for 15-20 years.
    3) Lennox; 13 seer; 3-1/2 ton - this bidder suggested I go 3-1/2 ton for the hottest texas summer days.
    2) Trane; 13 seer; 3-ton - this bidder wants me to add on a heat pump and variable speed - he gave bids for a 13xr and a 19xl

Bids in order of cost.

Suggestions? I do want to make sure it stays cold in the summer; never have had trouble keeping it warm in the winter.

Thanks!
    Dave

My opinion was base on 3 quote and wiht 14 seer trane unit is S/OK.

Dave,