Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Question Comparible to Trane?

I'm a simple Soldier, deployed atm and wife says the CAC is going out. I know nothing of ACs. Had our service guys come out, but said it was a band-aid fix and it "might" last through the summer. It's a pair of Goodman 3 ton units installed in 2001 after replacing another pair of 3 tons made by RUUD (builder grade). They did their job, kinda (always hot in a couple of upstairs room) and I usually have to call annually for repair service for one thing or another. My worry is the things will quit in the hottest time of Atlanta summer. Wife and kids would not be happy.

So, we start getting assessments and quotes. I know I can't mention prices but I can tell you about what equipment they quoted and what they'll do:

Downstairs: TRANE 16 XLI SEER: Model #4TTX6036, 4TXCB004BC, TUD2B060A9V3
    Upstairs: TRANE 16 XLI SEER: Model #4TTX6036, 4TXCB004BC, TUD2B060A9V3
    SCOPE OF WORK: WARRANTY LIFETIME PARTS AND LABOR WITH MAINTENANCE AGREEMENT

Down Replace the complete system Clean the freon lines with RX 11 replace the thermostat with one that controls humidity in summer and has circulation fan control Add a digital programmable thermostat to the basement and add a 2 zone control system Replace the return plenum Add a return to the basement Add a supply in big room in basement. Upstairs Replace the complete system Clean the freon lines with RX 11 replace the thermostat with one that controls humidity in summer and has circulation fan control Add a supply to the master bedroom and the front bedroom and a 10" return to hall. Replace supply and return plenums Relocate ac units to under stairs off back deck Extend freon lines and electrical
    The reason I ask what is comparible to Trane, and at the risk of discussing cost is that we're talking high-teens here. ... I guess the contractor believes that enlisted Soldiers are actually camoflauged money.