Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1

    ac wont react to stat

    The ac wont react to the stat. There are fur wires going frm stat to board: red white green and yellow and all are wired in correctly in both places as well as my red and white low voltage. The stat reacts correctly to the furnace but when I turn it to cool it just acts like its not there. The same stat has worked for this ac in the past and nothing has been changed. Please help. They're hot. Thanks

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Moore, Oklahoma, United States
    Posts
    4,275
    With the furnace unplugged how many ohms do you have between R and Y?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    South
    Posts
    580
    Take the red, yellow, and green and tie them together. Does it work now? If no then look further. If yes then change the t-stat.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Athens, Ohio
    Posts
    1,804
    Sorry people. NO DIY

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Chicagoland Area
    Posts
    4,619
    Quote Originally Posted by tc660 View Post
    The ac wont react to the stat. There are fur wires going frm stat to board: red white green and yellow and all are wired in correctly in both places as well as my red and white low voltage. The stat reacts correctly to the furnace but when I turn it to cool it just acts like its not there. The same stat has worked for this ac in the past and nothing has been changed. Please help. They're hot. Thanks
    Fur does not conduct electricity. Change these wires to copper and you should be good to go.
    Officially, Down for the count

    YOU HAVE TO GET OFF YOUR ASS TO GET ON YOUR FEET

    I know enough to know, I don't know enough
    Liberalism-Ideas so good they mandate them

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Southeastern Pa
    Posts
    18,556
    All of which begs the question:

    What fur?
    [Avatar photo from a Florida training accident. Everyone walked away.]
    2 Tim 3:16-17

    RSES CMS, HVAC Electrical Specialist

    AOP Forum Rules:







  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Cincinnati, Oh
    Posts
    5,042
    Quote Originally Posted by 2sac View Post
    Fur does not conduct electricity. Change these wires to copper and you should be good to go.
    Fur sur.
    "Better tell the sandman to stay away, because we're gonna be workin on this one all night."

    "Dude, you need more than 2 wires to a condenser to run a 2 stage heatpump."

    "Just get it done son."

    Dad adjusted

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Toronto,Ontario Canada
    Posts
    355
    we all agree, on this one. Call a licensed hvac tech. he will get it up and running for you soon enough. Good Luck tc660

    Maybe he has some special fur connection device. might be a new technology we all havent heard before.
    Get er Done!

    Do what has to be done
    when it has to be done
    as well as it has to be done
    And doing it all the time.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Chicagoland Area
    Posts
    4,619
    Quote Originally Posted by timebuilder View Post
    All of which begs the question:

    What fur?
    Fur da hellovit
    Officially, Down for the count

    YOU HAVE TO GET OFF YOUR ASS TO GET ON YOUR FEET

    I know enough to know, I don't know enough
    Liberalism-Ideas so good they mandate them

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event