Thread: career path

career path

What is a better career path? I’ve been working in hvac/r for 2 years now. Doing residential and light commercial service and install, about 50/50 for a small company. Also started working on refrigeration about a year ago. I now whats to come in 15 years just have to look at the guy next to me at work. I have an employment opportunity to become an apprentice service tech doing strictly commercial hvac. I wonder if any of u could shed some light on working
    for a larger company doing commercial hvac.

Not sure if this is much help but, I'd imagine that this experience is all dependent on the company you're planning on working for. Do some research on them and if you can, try to request to do more commercial work with your current company to see if that's what you really enjoy doing. Although the application is probably different vs working for bigger sized units out there, at least you can get a feel for it. Good luck

it is always greener on the other side. its always seems nice to be involved into a bigger company but.... the thing you have to really consider. are you doing a lot of hrs where you are right now and are you still learning. smaller companies are always good to work for because you tend to work on a lot of different stuff but as for a bigger company. they may have you work for 6 months but lay you off the rest of the year when it becomes slow. a company between 3-6 techs are good to work for anything bigger is a gamble. thats what i find... and by you doing everything it may be more better for you in the long run. thats just my 2 cents.
    Get er Done!

Do what has to be done
    when it has to be done
    as well as it has to be done
    And doing it all the time.