Page 4 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast
Results 40 to 52 of 60
  1. #40
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Phoenix,AZ
    Posts
    346
    I have the fieldpiece srh2 it works good the srh3 is probably even better

  2. #41
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Goodyear, AZ
    Posts
    197
    Just got in the Fieldpiece PRH2 looks good, I use the AAT3 and the SRH2. 5% off with hvactalk

    http://shop.rdholder.com/Fieldpiece-...piece-PRH2.htm

  3. #42
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    North Richland Hills, Texas
    Posts
    14,915
    I'll be picking up a new PRH2 in the morning, got a call from the supply house that they got it in, but didn't have time to pick it up today.

    I'll have to do some testing with it vs my selection of Testo H2's.

    Last night I resurrected 3 Testo H2's from the dead. I finally pulled one apart to figure out what kills them, and found it to be an easy repair!
    I'll post some pictures of the repair one of these days.
    Basically it is just one of the 5 wires in a ribbon cable between the head and the sensor that gets stretched at the pivot, so eventually breaks.
    I've been getting about a year out of them before it happens, fortunately I have been tossing them in a junk drawer, so had them handy last night when I got bored and was looking for a project.
    If more government is the answer, then it's a really stupid question.

  4. #43
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Palatine Il.
    Posts
    414
    I just purchased the Fieldpiece SRH3, and give it 2 big thumbs up. The extendable probe, Target Superheat and Target Evaporator Exit Temperature calculation features make it the best.

    The only thing about it I don't like versus my SRH2 is Fieldpiece took away the K-type thermocouple socket, so I could plug in my clamp probes to take actual superheat readings, after calculating what the superheat should be.
    Hi, my name is Glenn, and I'm a Toolaholic!

  5. #44
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    new england
    Posts
    651
    I have the testo. I wrapt it with electrical tape when I bought my second one. They are a bit fragile. Doesn't take much to break the battery cover but i trust the readings.

  6. #45
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Millsboro, DE
    Posts
    100
    So I'm looking for a multi-temperature instrument (three duct DB's simultaneously), and one of the pros here recommends a Cooper-Atkins SH66. Looking at their website I see they also offer a three point DB/WB instrument, Cooper-Atkins #SRH77A. Does anyone have any experience with that? Looks to be about $100 more than the SH66A.

  7. #46
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Nashville ,TN
    Posts
    333
    Love it but i think im going to go testo or fieldpiece it gets old having to carry the box around.

  8. #47
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Greenwood IN
    Posts
    439
    Quote Originally Posted by itsiceman View Post
    Oops I meant what kind of tape do they use on the testo and how do they stick it to have it hold worth a ****?
    With three spring pushing on that little door connection I can't get anything to hold long before it busts open. Had the same issue with my 905 that is toast now.
    A small piece of foil tape works great on the battery door.

    I like the 605 from Testo, but it was too easy to loose or forget. So I got the Cooper MFM300KIT-1 a couple of months ago, really like it so far. I bought an extra 5029 probe so it displays in-duct psychometric readings (including enthalpy) simultaneously. The case is a little bulkier than I like, so I'll be putting it in a soft case after a bit, I think the Veto MB will work good.

    How's the SRH3 working out? Has anyone gotten a PRH2 yet?
    Reality is merely an illusion, albeit a very persistent one.
    -Albert Einstein

  9. #48
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Millsboro, DE
    Posts
    100
    My Fluke absolutely DIED sitting on my desk gathering dust, new batteries don't help and I'm going to contact them about that. Does anyone else here appreciate the irony of trusting instruments named "Fluke"?

    Ordered a Fieldpiece PHH2 on June 11 (70th birthday) from Test Equipment Depot, it hasn't been shipped yet, is there a shortage or is that a problem vendor?

    Ended up buying the GE Psyclone for ambient measurements, so far so good. When the Fluke worked, its humidity measurements were a few points different, but as I said I didn't trust its humidity numbers, although Drybulb measurements were spot on.
    Last edited by ferd1942; 06-27-2012 at 06:54 PM. Reason: Clarified Fluke and Psyclone comparison

  10. #49
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    NW burbs of Detroit
    Posts
    6,058
    Quote Originally Posted by ferd1942 View Post
    My Fluke absolutely DIED sitting on my desk gathering dust, new batteries don't help and I'm going to contact them about that. Does anyone else here appreciate the irony of trusting instruments named "Fluke"?

    Ordered a Fieldpiece PHH2 on June 11 (70th birthday) from Test Equipment Depot, it hasn't been shipped yet, is there a shortage or is that a problem vendor?

    Ended up buying the GE Psyclone for ambient measurements, so far so good. When the Fluke worked, its humidity measurements were a few points different, but as I said I didn't trust its humidity numbers, although Drybulb measurements were spot on.
    Happy Birthday.

    GE still makes hvac instruments???? Man, I thought they bailed on our industry when they sold the H 10 to Ykafugikungfulooey or whatever they are called.

    Thats a BIG surprise.

  11. #50
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    NH
    Posts
    1,216
    Quote Originally Posted by mark beiser View Post
    I'll be picking up a new PRH2 in the morning, got a call from the supply house that they got it in, but didn't have time to pick it up today.

    I'll have to do some testing with it vs my selection of Testo H2's.

    Last night I resurrected 3 Testo H2's from the dead. I finally pulled one apart to figure out what kills them, and found it to be an easy repair!
    I'll post some pictures of the repair one of these days.
    Basically it is just one of the 5 wires in a ribbon cable between the head and the sensor that gets stretched at the pivot, so eventually breaks.
    I've been getting about a year out of them before it happens, fortunately I have been tossing them in a junk drawer, so had them handy last night when I got bored and was looking for a project.
    Looks like I will be taking mine apart soon. Mine died about a year after I got it... Thanks Mark

  12. #51
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Millsboro, DE
    Posts
    100
    I get a lot of referrals from an Industrial Hygienist who does mold studies and remediations. People in that industry use a GE "Surveymaster", a contact hygrometer, to measure moisture content of walls, floors, etc. The Psyclone is a cousin of that. Mfgr. is "GE Sensing".

  13. #52
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    NW burbs of Detroit
    Posts
    6,058
    Quote Originally Posted by ferd1942 View Post
    I get a lot of referrals from an Industrial Hygienist who does mold studies and remediations. People in that industry use a GE "Surveymaster", a contact hygrometer, to measure moisture content of walls, floors, etc. The Psyclone is a cousin of that. Mfgr. is "GE Sensing".
    Thanks, ferd

Page 4 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event