Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Calculating the required CFM

Could some one please tell me how to calculate the required CFM for a room.

Is it Calculated like - Required CFM = (Room Volume in cubic feet)
    divided by
    (Minutes per air change in the room)

It is not as simple as you suggest.
    It is a combination of factors. Among them are exterior wall dimensions, ceiling dimensions, insulation of those surfaces, size of windows and skylights, compass heading of the windows, # of people in the room and the typical activities they will be doing (exercising, sleeping, cooking), heat generating appliances in the room, lights (incandescent, florescent, other), floor size and insulation, forced ventilation, etc.

It is not something which can be learned in a couple of minutes.

Thank you very much for the reply kdean. I'm new to the field of HVAC and my purpose of calculating the CFM is to define it as a boundary condition to my CFD simulation.

My CFD domain is a simple room with three people whose breathing ( Inhalation of O2 and exhalation of CO2 ) is modeled for the simulation. Now the objective of the simulation is to see the effectiveness of ventilation to the room in reducing the concentration of CO2.

Could you please provide your suggestions on this

Quote Originally Posted by saisanthoshm88 View Post
    Thank you very much for the reply kdean. I'm new to the field of HVAC and my purpose of calculating the CFM is to define it as a boundary condition to my CFD simulation.

My CFD domain is a simple room with three people whose breathing ( Inhalation of O2 and exhalation of CO2 ) is modeled for the simulation. Now the objective of the simulation is to see the effectiveness of ventilation to the room in reducing the concentration of CO2.

Could you please provide your suggestions on this
    just saying...for a simulation use only and no other real life situation use, 1 cfm per sqft.