Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Air handler not coming on with condenser

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Hello, new to the site, would appreciate any help. My A/C was running and then the air handler shut off but the condenser continued to run. The house was not cool (not a stuck contactor) and now the air handler wont come on (It will come on in heat mode, just not in cool). I am getting voltage on both sides of both transformers (its a gas furnace) and the only way to turn on the air handler is the switch on the handler. It is an older unit (no board), and the switch has 3 positions (ON, OFF, FAN). It would normally be in the ON position, but currently the only way the handler will turn on is in the FAN position. I am steadily checking different parts, t-stat is next, but if anyone can point me in the right direction that would be sweet. The unit is a Nordyne model # MGHA-075ABFC-01. I am a universally ceritfied tech thru Esco, but still relatively new to HVAC. This is teh A/C at my house.

Sounds like you fried your new stat with 48-54 volts. Time to Call a pro.
    "The only true wisdom is in knowing you know nothing" Socrates

isn't this a duplicate thread ?
    It`s better to be silent and thought the fool; than speak and remove all doubt.

Sorry my friend, but this is sounding like we're doing a side job for you. You can probably imagine how much a professional tradesman enjoys giving work away to non professionals.
    However, if you are certified as you say, then I would suggest building your post count and applying for pro application on this site. There are loads of skilled technicians in the pro section that will help you diagnose just about anything.
    Sorry, I don't mean to be rude, but our trade is polluted with guys who think they can buy a meter and gauges, go out and charge people for a job they're not qualified to perform, thus further enforcing a stigma us professionals try so hard to refute.