Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 13 of 14

Thread: Thermostat

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Kentucky
    Posts
    21

    Thermostat

    I'm going to try and explain this. I have my ac on and set at 72. I have a hunter programmable tstat. I live in a mobile home, I know they suck for effeciancy. The tstat is located in the hall way less than 2' away from the air return. My ac is kicking on and off about every 3 or 4 minutes. There is a temp swing going on. I take my own temperature with my own tools, I do work on hvac and know a bit about it I'm EPA certified and I have been doing it for about 2 years. Now when I take my own measurements I'll get 70 and it will shut off but the temp starts to change quickly.It will stay on till about 74 and shut off. No heat sources around. I'm thinking because it's so close to the return that once the blower shuts off that the air pulling by is cooling it off to quick and once it shuts off its messing with the tstat. Could this be the problem or just the effeciancy of my home. System works great for heat. I have a 92% goodman.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    1,744
    Quote Originally Posted by Kymike View Post
    I live in a mobile home, I know they suck for effeciancy.
    That's your problem. They are insulated for crap and the second the AC shuts down the tin can starts to climb in temp, and it kicks back on. Your own measurements prove that the temp climbs immediately when it shuts off. It's poor insulation or massive heat load (one of the same in this case), either way no stat is going to improve on the efficiency of the system.
    Propagating the formula. http://www.noagendashow.com/

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    In a boiler room
    Posts
    7,186
    How long are the on cycles?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Kentucky
    Posts
    21
    The cycles last a couple of minutes. I turned the system off for an hour just to see how high the temp would climb and at the end of the hour it was 73. I guess I'll just have to control manually.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    1,744
    >I'll get 70 and it will shut off but the temp starts to change quickly.It will stay on till about 74 and shut off.

    Is the temp really changing that fast or not?
    Propagating the formula. http://www.noagendashow.com/

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    In a boiler room
    Posts
    7,186
    Can you adjust cycle rate in that Hunter stat?

    If your cycles are only 2 minutes on and stat is located near return, the cycle rate is set too high.

    Or you could get a good thermostat and get rid of that Hunter junk.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Kentucky
    Posts
    21
    I couldn't find any adjustment on the tstat. Look before I started looking for answers. It does change that quick. I think I will try changing the tstat and see if it helps. I'm really not to fond of programmable ones anyway.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Etters PA.
    Posts
    504
    Are you getting a draft through the wall try sealing the whole where the stat wire goes through the wall

    Sent from my PC36100 using Tapatalk

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Etters PA.
    Posts
    504
    Or maybe you are oversized for when it gets really hot out and right now you are short cycling

    Sent from my PC36100 using Tapatalk

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Kentucky
    Posts
    21
    What causes short cycling. The whole where the tstat wires one through are in an inside wall. I'll try though and see what happens. I have a ton and a half unit.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Mount Airy, MD
    Posts
    7,281
    Thread relocated to "Tech to Tech"

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Etters PA.
    Posts
    504
    Short cycle is referring to the system being oversized therefore it cools down your house very quickly when there is not a large demand on it . the stat being located on an interior wall will not stop a draft . Use some thumb gum or playdough if you have kids.note though regular fiberglass insulation is not really stop a draft so that doesn't usually work. As for a 1.5 ton that would be like me telling you that a trip to the store will only take 5 min. From where you live. need a lot more information to give you that .

    Sent from my PC36100 using Tapatalk

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Montana
    Posts
    2
    If the thermostat is located in the hall as most are, and the hallway is the return for the furnace/ac, I would get a length of thermostat wire and splice onto existing and move it to different locations away from vent in living room, I have seen a lot of these that have been relocated.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event