Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: valve bandit

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Mt airy N.C.
    Posts
    44

    valve bandit

    This is the third unit i have serviced that is missing the service valves and ports. This is an old intertherm not the best unit in the world but they can take abuse pretty good. i have found out who is doing this. i thought it was just a one man operation but it turns out to be one of the big name bis. around here. LOL thanks to them i now have a new customer.
    Attached Images Attached Images  

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Phoenix,AZ
    Posts
    304
    That's weird I replaced a unit that didnt have any recently I had to recover instead of pumping down

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    214
    Most of those old Intertherm Mobile Home units had the Quick Connect Connections. They did not have service valves. When they start leaking you have to cut them out and re-pipe. Looks like they forgot to give you a high side port on that one.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Toronto Canada
    Posts
    1,090
    If the valves where leaking and the unit is old and customer is cheap and is in need of cooling. Why is this so wrong if two service ports are welded in at time of vlave replacement. I do not see what is so bad.

    Maybe I am wrong ????

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Mt airy N.C.
    Posts
    44
    yep i forgot you are right they did have the quick connect. bugs the he!! out of me

  6. #6
    So after they were done brazing the copper back together after removing the valves, how did they re-charge the unit or better yet, how did they pull a vacuum?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Columbia, MD
    Posts
    3,796
    I had to do this once. It was a fire job. the insurance company wasnt going to pay for new valves or unit(go figure). so i removed both service valves(they leaked) brazed in a tee with shraider port on both lines.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Mt airy N.C.
    Posts
    44
    the only way that they could add freon was through perm. suction. pulling a vac on the unit if they did it at all could not have been acheeved correctely.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Mt airy N.C.
    Posts
    44
    at least you added ports. i see nothing wrong with that

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Madison, Wisconsin
    Posts
    2,260
    It would be easy to remove the service valves, add a ball valve on the LL and brazed in schrader valves on suction and liquid. You can still pump down and all then.
    I r the king of the world!...or at least I get to stand on the roof and look down on the rest of yall

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event