Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: What causes it?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    My house is in Texas..
    Posts
    141
    Post Likes

    What causes it?

    Unit = MarvAir
    Problem = no evap blower running..

    This unit has humidistat and ambient lockout....

    I noticed blower came back on..internal lockout ..... Pulling 7 amps rated for 4.3.
    All coils are clean and filter off.
    Volt - 208.
    Visually see one winding discolored.
    Replaced motor and amps were 4.3. (still kinda high but I thought @ 208 it's ok).
    New motor is doing the same.....
    Cap is ok

    Oh... It's on a VFD house ....
    My thoughts are a loss in voltage sometime in the night.

    "Duct tape is like the force. It has a light side, a dark side, and it holds the world together."

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    42
    Post Likes
    Did you check tension and alignment on belt?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    My house is in Texas..
    Posts
    141
    Post Likes
    Direct drive

    "Duct tape is like the force. It has a light side, a dark side, and it holds the world together."

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    East of big city prices.
    Posts
    3,748
    Post Likes
    Did you get an OEM motor? Does it have and duct work on it?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    My house is in Texas..
    Posts
    141
    Post Likes
    Yeah ... It was ordered from manufacturer. And no duct .. Just a boot ...

    "Duct tape is like the force. It has a light side, a dark side, and it holds the world together."

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    8
    Post Likes
    Motor Is More Than Likely Overloaded, Moving Too Much cfm,Try Opening EconomIzer If Equipped Or gOing To Medium Static, Also Check Relay operation

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Seattle, WA
    Posts
    7,860
    Post Likes
    MarvAir is typically a commercial/industrial unit. Is this a wall hang unit? And is the new blower pulling over amps too? I'm not clear on what you are saying. And what is a VFD house?

    Just guesting from your limited info is the unit is receiving low voltage. Check all wiring including the power inputs when the unit is running. If fine then check all the wiring going to the blower motor when running checking the voltage for any voltage drop.
    "The American Republic will endure until the day Congress discovers it can bribe the public with the public's own money.
    - Alexis de Toqueville, 1835

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Mid-Mo
    Posts
    3,596
    Post Likes
    So it was rated for 4.3 and the new one is pulling 4.3... I'm kinda confused. We have lost a fair amount of blower motors on our critical units that run a lot, it happens.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    My house is in Texas..
    Posts
    141
    Post Likes
    Drilling rig house.... variable speed drive house.... Low voltage.

    "Duct tape is like the force. It has a light side, a dark side, and it holds the world together."

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor MagazineThe place where Electrical professionals meet.
Quality Home Comfort Awards