Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Getting tools to start with

Hi, I am only in my first semester of HVAC class, but I want to start getting tools now.

What I have:
    Fluke77, Inficon tek-mate leak detector, CPS scales CC220 Fluke therm temp gun 62, goss oxy acetylene toch, flaring tools basic hand tools, yellow jacket manifold gauges, uniweld air acetylene torch on the way from ebay(got it new with 2 tips a4 and a11 for 75.00) it fits a b tank.

What I want next: acetylene b tank, low loss fittings for manifold set, fittings to fit car systems, vacuum pump, maybe get a recovery unit if I found a deal.

My question is any suggestions on finding a used b tank arcet wants 175.00 just for the tank, and how about a robinair 3cfm pump would that be good enough for system of 4 ton and less?

The b tank and the vacuum pump will be the end of my purchases for a while but anything else that is not to costly or a gotta have tool.

Thanks for the advice

If your going to work for someone when you graduate more then likely they will supply the tanks, recovery equip, and vacuum pump. May want to save your money for something else but your enthusiasm for good tools is nice to see..
    Gotta have the right tool for the job!

Where is all the stuff MADE IN THE USA?

"Thats what we do Troy. Incredible, Invisible, Imbelivable things. We are an Unseen, Unknown, Unvincible fraternity of craftsman.."

Quote Originally Posted by mike357 View Post
    What I want next: acetylene b tank, low loss fittings for manifold set, fittings to fit car systems, vacuum pump, maybe get a recovery unit if I found a deal.

My question is any suggestions on finding a used b tank arcet wants 175.00 just for the tank, and how about a robinair 3cfm pump would that be good enough for system of 4 ton and less?

The b tank and the vacuum pump will be the end of my purchases for a while but anything else that is not to costly or a gotta have tool.

Thanks for the advice