Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123
Results 27 to 37 of 37
  1. #27
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Columbia, MD
    Posts
    3,834
    i have also had weak HSI that wasnt hot enough to ignite the fuel. i have also had them that go out right before the gas valve opens.

  2. #28
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    State College, PA
    Posts
    1,049
    Quote Originally Posted by gravity View Post
    i have also had weak HSI that wasnt hot enough to ignite the fuel. i have also had them that go out right before the gas valve opens.
    Thats exactly what was happening to me.

    Need to get an OEM. Universal would not work.
    Can someone please explain to me -
    Why is there never enough time to do it right the first time, but plenty of time to do it twice?


    Please view site rules: http://hvac-talk.com/vbb/showthread.php?t=1241

    Apply for Pro Membership: http://hvac-talk.com/vbb/showthread.php?t=116113

    Find your local HVAC-Talk Contractor: http://icemeister.net/aop_map.html

  3. #29
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Columbia, MD
    Posts
    3,834
    really!? thats strange. what make and model furnace would it not work with?

  4. #30
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Columbia, MD
    Posts
    3,834
    these are the important things to right down in my little book...lol

    this one will go next to the line that saids "dont forget to put plug back in gas valve after checking propane pressure".....imagine what happened next.

  5. #31
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    State College, PA
    Posts
    1,049
    Quote Originally Posted by gravity View Post
    really!? thats strange. what make and model furnace would it not work with?
    Don't remember the Model#, but it was a Payne. All I remember it had 2 venturi tubes 50-60k most likely.
    Can someone please explain to me -
    Why is there never enough time to do it right the first time, but plenty of time to do it twice?


    Please view site rules: http://hvac-talk.com/vbb/showthread.php?t=1241

    Apply for Pro Membership: http://hvac-talk.com/vbb/showthread.php?t=116113

    Find your local HVAC-Talk Contractor: http://icemeister.net/aop_map.html

  6. #32
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Columbia, MD
    Posts
    3,834
    i believe the 50-60 is 3 burners. usually 20k per burner. i would say it was a 40,000.

  7. #33
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    State College, PA
    Posts
    1,049

    You are probably right

    Quote Originally Posted by gravity View Post
    i believe the 50-60 is 3 burners. usually 20k per burner. i would say it was a 40,000.
    You know, now that you mention it, you are probably right. This was in the attic furnace. He had 2 systems, so he most likely had a 40k + 40k.
    Can someone please explain to me -
    Why is there never enough time to do it right the first time, but plenty of time to do it twice?


    Please view site rules: http://hvac-talk.com/vbb/showthread.php?t=1241

    Apply for Pro Membership: http://hvac-talk.com/vbb/showthread.php?t=116113

    Find your local HVAC-Talk Contractor: http://icemeister.net/aop_map.html

  8. #34
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Lancaster PA
    Posts
    67,875
    Quote Originally Posted by gravity View Post
    these are the important things to right down in my little book...lol

    this one will go next to the line that saids "dont forget to put plug back in gas valve after checking propane pressure".....imagine what happened next.
    Thats something you generally only forget to do once.
    Contractor locator map

    How-to-apply-for-Professional

    How many times must one fix something before it is fixed?

  9. #35
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    State College, PA
    Posts
    1,049
    Quote Originally Posted by beenthere View Post
    Thats something you generally only forget to do once.
    I've only done it once. That was enough. "Why do I smell gas?" ... "Oh. darn!"

    "Reminder to self ..."

    "Replace plug before firing furnace up!!!"
    Can someone please explain to me -
    Why is there never enough time to do it right the first time, but plenty of time to do it twice?


    Please view site rules: http://hvac-talk.com/vbb/showthread.php?t=1241

    Apply for Pro Membership: http://hvac-talk.com/vbb/showthread.php?t=116113

    Find your local HVAC-Talk Contractor: http://icemeister.net/aop_map.html

  10. #36
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Cal
    Posts
    1,596
    Quote Originally Posted by beenthere View Post
    Thats something you generally only forget to do once.
    I have a "friend" that has done that more than once.

  11. #37
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Lancaster PA
    Posts
    67,875
    Quote Originally Posted by btuhack View Post
    I have a "friend" that has done that more than once.

    LOL... ok, some people need to do it more then once to learn their lesson.

    Myself, once was more then enough.
    Contractor locator map

    How-to-apply-for-Professional

    How many times must one fix something before it is fixed?

Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event