Prgrammable Thermostat for YCH120B3L0BA
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 13 of 14
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Posts
    5,773

    Prgrammable Thermostat for YCH120B3L0BA

    Asking the pros. What programmable stat to use with a YCH120B3L0BA?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Northern VA 38 degrees N by 76 degrees W
    Posts
    5,058
    Quote Originally Posted by infwsdm View Post
    Asking the pros. What programmable stat to use with a YCH120B3L0BA?
    BAYSENS019B

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Colorado
    Posts
    302

    Exclamation Thermostat for a Trane

    Many of us learned this the hard way. Many Trane units don't use a thermostat - they use a remote zone sensor that looks like a thermostat. If you do not see any terminals labeled with traditional thermostat symbols inside the unit, then you need a Trane zone sensor, or you have to buy an add-on board from trane to install a conventional thermostat. Once I quoted a Starbucks thermostat upgrade before I knew this, after spending a few hours scratching my head on why my new stats didn't work, my supervisor told me about the special equipment needed. I lost a bunch of time and material on that quote having to buy the add on boards.........

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Southeastern Pa
    Posts
    17,718
    For the commercial world...

    call Johnstone and get the conventional thermostat interface for Trane units, and install a vision pro thermostat.

    That way, the techs that go there in the future will all know how to work the thing, and you will have turned your back on the idea of proprietary equipment, which in terms of customer value, is good for both you AND the customer.
    [Avatar photo from a Florida training accident. Everyone walked away.]
    2 Tim 3:16-17

    RSES CMS, HVAC Electrical Specialist

    AOP Forum Rules:







  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Colorado
    Posts
    302

    Thumbs up I agree!

    I agree with you, though I am partial to the Robert Shaw 9725i. I think it blows the vision pro away.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Northern VA 38 degrees N by 76 degrees W
    Posts
    5,058
    Quote Originally Posted by timebuilder View Post
    For the commercial world...

    call Johnstone and get the conventional thermostat interface for Trane units, and install a vision pro thermostat.

    That way, the techs that go there in the future will all know how to work the thing, and you will have turned your back on the idea of proprietary equipment, which in terms of customer value, is good for both you AND the customer.
    And what about the propitiate features that you loose on the equipment when using a CTI and third party Tstat?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Colorado
    Posts
    302

    Hmm Propritary features - trane

    I used to dislike Trane alot, but we picked up some big stores with a lot of Trane equipment. The more I am learning about it, the more I am liking it. But so far from what I have seen is that the baystat features are only really necessary on the bigger intellipak stuff where the fully modulating gas valve and economizer features need to know the zone temperature to modulate accordingly. On a smaller rooftop, I think you are just losing the 'heat fail' and 'cool fail' and 'test' indicators. But I admit that I am still learning and there is probably more about the baystat series that I don't know about yet.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Southeastern Pa
    Posts
    17,718
    Quote Originally Posted by second opinion View Post
    And what about the propitiate features that you loose on the equipment when using a CTI and third party Tstat?
    Based on my experience, I have not lost a feature that is necessary, plus, I DO lose the phone calls from the other guys asking me how to change values in the setup program.
    [Avatar photo from a Florida training accident. Everyone walked away.]
    2 Tim 3:16-17

    RSES CMS, HVAC Electrical Specialist

    AOP Forum Rules:







  9. #9
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    4,381
    tuba i also used to dislike Trane until i got a better understanding of them. still not a big fan of old voyager stuff but they are around

    Sent from my HTC Sensation 4G using Tapatalk

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Posts
    5,773
    Thanks for all the input guys. Much appreciated

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Ottawa, Ontario Canada
    Posts
    40
    Trane sells a great manual to aid you in all your Trane troubleshooting.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Colorado
    Posts
    302

    Question Which manual?

    Which manual is it? I recently purchased the combustion burner manual.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    4,381
    i have a black book & white book but the white book isn't very informative. someone told me there is different ones I'm not sure if it's true. a member of the forum "amickracing" kindly shared this link full of files some time ago. it's good
    http://www.hvac.amickracing.com/RTU%...%20RTU%20info/

    Sent from my HTC Sensation 4G using Tapatalk

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event