need advice about A/C unit repair
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Confused need advice about A/C unit repair

I am a HVAC install mechanic that hasn't worked in the field in a few years and I'm in aposition where I have to repair a couple units. I never was a service tech, hopefully someone can help. The units are simple straight A/C with no thermostat. On the first one, the red wire to the capacitor in the outdoor unit keeps frying off. I replace it, but in a couple days it just fries off again. Obviously drawing too much current. What could the problem be?

On the second unit, the compressor turns on for about 5-10 seconds then cuts right back off again. The unit only has a suction port so I cn only read the low pressure side but the gauge is in the retard when I put it on. What are the options with that one?

Thanks for any help I can get.

When wire burns off of a capacitor it is typically due to corrosion inside of the wire bundle causing excessive resistance. A poor quality crimp, loose terminal, rusty terminal, overheated metal or undersized wire are among causes of high resistance in subsequent repairs.

There can be several issues that can cause the suction line to be in retard.
    In any case, putting your gauges on a line while it is in retard will pull the air from your hoses into the refrigerant circuit. You may now have refrigerant contaminated with air and moisture.

You're asking a pretty basic question. I know much you can forget when you've been out of a trade for a while. I know there are all sorts of nooks and crannies in the trade where people never use certain parts of their training.

It is most likely low on refrigerant or has a restriction in the refrigerant circuit. It could both with poor air flow too. Neglected equipment frequently develops problems until one of them snowballs into a failure. I can't tell from here.