Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Simple question

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    san pedro ca.
    Posts
    362

    Simple question

    I need to change a med temp. display case self contained compressor 1/4 hp, it's r134a and I have a bunch of hotshot It is okay to straight change it as long as I change filter driers.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Virginia
    Posts
    34
    I would imagine your situation isnt much different from when I use to repair household refrigerators that had 134A in them. When I changed a compressor in a fridge I made sure to replace the drier, pull a good vacuum, and then I recharged completely with HotShot. Never had a problem.....

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    san pedro ca.
    Posts
    362
    Yes I have did it before just wanted to be sure since it's been a while and I'm scaaaared.
    Thankyou for awnser.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Arkansas
    Posts
    833
    How did you end up with a 'bunch of hotshot"?

    I think I have 12oz can floating around somewhere, its about 10 years old.

    If it were me,I would use 134A. You should change the filter/driers no matter which refrigerant you use.

    If you don't want to buy a cylinder of 134A you could purchase a few cans at the local Wal Mart or auto parts store.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    4,381
    temp or pressure controlled?

    Sent from my HTC Sensation 4G using Tapatalk

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    san pedro ca.
    Posts
    362
    Temp controlled. I was thinking the same thing as auto zone r134a.
    I replaced a compressor two yrs ago and it was after hours and the parts place on ly had hotshot in 25 gallon cans so I bought it I have only used it a few times so got a lot left.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Posts
    1,482
    Pounds,,,refrigeant isn't sold in gallons.
    One way to outthink people is to make them think you think. They'll think you're not really thinking what you're trying to get them to think you think...........

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    NW burbs of Detroit
    Posts
    6,058
    Quote Originally Posted by uniservice View Post
    Pounds,,,refrigeant isn't sold in gallons.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event