Confused 92' Rheem Reversal valve?

Ok I'm new to the service industry, I haven't came across to many older rheems, and this one is stumping me.
    I know older rheems there set to be in cool as default. so that's one thing that may be throwing my brain into a giant bowl of mush.

but when thermostat is in heat i have 24 volts going to reversing coil and when its in cool i have 24 volts at coil as well. although the unit is not switching to heat in ether. so that leads me to believe that reversal valve is stuck in cool?

amb. temp 48, gauges hooked up i have about 50psi on liquid and 3rd port, with about 120 at vapor line, when in both heat and cool mode. that's why i say i think valve is stuck in cool.

resistance on reversing coil is 16 ohms.

so i guess what im asking is your opinion. valve stuck? and why am i getting 24 volts in both heat and cool? shouldn't it be in heat only? relay maybe?

Thanks!

Well, if you are getting 50 psi on the liquid line and the common suction port and a higher pressure of 120 psi on the vapor line, then you are definitely not in cooling mode. It is in fact in the heating mode right now, even though those pressures are not correct. If you diconnect one of the leads from the reversing valve you should see the pressures change to a higher liquid pressure and lower vapor pressure as that would be the cooling mode. There are a few reasons why 24v is present to reversing valve even in cooling mode, but the most likely is either incorrect low voltage wiring or a faulty thermostat. The bigger issue right now becomes those pressure readings.

I'm sorry, was on my phone earlier and was in a hurry. 120 liquid and 50 vapor. sorry had it backwards. yeah and I'm doing this as a favor to a friend so i didn't rack my brain any harder on that today, even though that is all i think about. guess its a passion, or an obsession! sorry for the confusion.