Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 13 of 20
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    648
    Post Likes

    Siemens Insight 3.6

    I have a customer that has a building with Siemens controllers and an Insight front end. Siemens setup the PC user account for the customer (a county superior courthouse) with no admin rights, thus very limited functionality within Insight. Siemens is the only admin user account on the PC and is unwilling to give up the credentials (obviously) OR come to the site and use their account to add another admin account for the customer.

    What the customer DOES have is the original Windows XP install disc that came with the PC, the USB hardware key for Insight and the Insight 3.6 installation discs.


    I was wondering how difficult it would be to get a backup of the current Insight database. Wipe the PC out and start fresh with a new installation of Windows allowing for admin rights. Install Insight and restore the backup. The only thing i'm not too sure of is restoring the backup once Insight has been re-installed. Right now I have access to a folder called "Apogee backups". In that folder are several other folders with recent dates going back a full year. In each of those folders there's a couple files. One being a "backup.cfg" file. I'm guessing that is what i'd be using to restore the database.

    That all being said i'm wondering if anyone could provide any info on whether this seems plausible and any tips or help. Thanks in advance!

    Matt

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Pennsylvania
    Posts
    128
    Post Likes

    Win XP?

    Quote Originally Posted by matt8085 View Post
    I have a customer that has a building with Siemens controllers and an Insight front end. Siemens setup the PC user account for the customer (a county superior courthouse) with no admin rights, thus very limited functionality within Insight. Siemens is the only admin user account on the PC and is unwilling to give up the credentials (obviously) OR come to the site and use their account to add another admin account for the customer.

    What the customer DOES have is the original Windows XP install disc that came with the PC, the USB hardware key for Insight and the Insight 3.6 installation discs.

    That all being said i'm wondering if anyone could provide any info on whether this seems plausible and any tips or help. Thanks in advance!

    Matt
    Matt,

    If this is a Windows XP machine, it's not very difficult to obtain the Administrator password. You need to download the ophcrack iso image and burn it to CD:

    http://sourceforge.net/projects/ophcrack/

    After you burn the image file (it's a "live CD"), put the CD into the drive, reboot your computer and choose "boot from CD" in your BIOS or boot options. When ophcrack comes up, click the Administrator account and then click Crack. The software will then determine the Administrator password and show it to you.

    Obviously you shouldn't use this to access machines that you aren't supposed to have rights to....

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    648
    Post Likes
    Thanks for the reply. It is an XP pro machine with SP2. I'll definitely try what you suggested but I'm still interested in restoring a backup in case something goes wrong and I do have to re-install Windows. Does anyone have any documentation for Insight that they would be willing to share? The only thing I have is the release notes for
    3.6, which just go over the new features. Thanks again for any and all help

    Matt

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Des Moines
    Posts
    306
    Post Likes
    Who's PC is it anyway? Is the PC on a domain? I highly doubt Siemens is the only admin account on the machine.

    Just get the IT guy to change the password to the Siemens account if you don't know how. No hacking needed (I doubt the county would want a contractor hacking the admin account on one of their PC's! LOL)

    Done.
    Dingman from Iowa~
    "A lie gets halfway around the world before the truth has a chance to get its pants on."
    - Sir Winston Churchill (1874-1965)

    The Dingman's webpage, featuring the Ding_Z

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    648
    Post Likes
    The PC is owned by the county (not Siemens) and is not on any network. Completely stand alone, nothing even plugged into the Ethernet jack. It was setup by Siemens and there is absolutely only one admin account on the machine, (the Siemens one).

    I have been given permission to "hack" the machine (if you want to call it that). I don't consider what I proposed to do as "hacking".
    If we setup a front end PC for a customer, it's understood that its THE CUSTOMER's PC, not ours. Therefore if they want an admin account on their own machine we give it to them. I think it's bullsh*t that these contractors would sell you a system, and not even give you the credentials.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Des Moines
    Posts
    306
    Post Likes
    I agree, that is complete BS and NOT standard practice.

    Stand-alone? Yeah, hack the password and be done with it.

    BTW, you need to get some backups off that PC. When it does crash, it might take the files on the HD with it.
    Dingman from Iowa~
    "A lie gets halfway around the world before the truth has a chance to get its pants on."
    - Sir Winston Churchill (1874-1965)

    The Dingman's webpage, featuring the Ding_Z

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    1
    Post Likes

    Thumbs up siemens insight

    I have a login for the siemens support site for specialists if you need documentation.
    I run desigo insight 4.1 myself.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    2,457
    Post Likes
    Quote Originally Posted by jrevans View Post
    Matt,

    If this is a Windows XP machine, it's not very difficult to obtain the Administrator password. You need to download the ophcrack iso image and burn it to CD:

    http://sourceforge.net/projects/ophcrack/

    After you burn the image file (it's a "live CD"), put the CD into the drive, reboot your computer and choose "boot from CD" in your BIOS or boot options. When ophcrack comes up, click the Administrator account and then click Crack. The software will then determine the Administrator password and show it to you.

    Obviously you shouldn't use this to access machines that you aren't supposed to have rights to....

    That's pretty slick. The last time I had to crack into an XP box I hacked the hive file. It was straightforward but I had to have another computer, an XP install disk, etc.

    I'm going to have to bookmark your link though. That method seems a lot simpler.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    5
    Post Likes
    To perform an Insight database backup, simply go to Start/programs/Insight/Insight backup utility and backup the database to wherever you choose. Before attempting to uninstall Insight, make sure you get the license file first. You should be able to find it in the folder crogram files\siemens\apogee\common as a .txt file. During uninstall this folder will be erased, so make sure you have that .txt file somewhere safe. Also make sure you save the entire c:insight\database\graphics\backgrounds folder somewhere. Once you have successfully uninstalled then reinstalled the Insight software, go into the "getting started" manual on the on line documentation part and follow the procedure to license it using the aforementioned .txt file. Then put the background graphics in the proper folder again. Next, go back to start/programs/Insight/database backup utility and run the database restore from where you saved the backup performed initially. If all of that seems too complicated, contact your local Siemens rep. I've never known a Siemens field employee anywhere in the country that wouldn't help you to add an administrator user to the Insight PC. Really, that's all you need to do is get an administrator added.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    648
    Post Likes
    Thanks for all the replies. P1nda that would be fantastic if you could provide me with any documentation for Insight 3.6. My email is in my profile.

    Randy, Thank you very much for taking the time to help a fellow field tech out. The thing is, I don't plan on uninstalling anything. I'm hoping to just get a complete backup of the current Insight database, Wipe the machine out completely by re-installing a fresh copy of Windows. Loading Insight back onto the machine and restoring the backup. The end result being admin access level within Insight. I can assure you without a doubt that the local Siemens branch here WILL NOT add an admin user for us or the end user. I met with a Siemen's tech onsite (on my company's dime) and after the the request to add the admin account, he made a few phone calls to the powers that be and said he wasn't allowed to do it.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Saudia
    Posts
    19
    Post Likes
    Dear friends,

    I would apprciate if somebody gives me an urgent reply
    I downloaded desigo insight V4.1 On WINDOWS7 following step by step v4.1.
    ( downloaded from cd: acrobat reader,sqlserver2008 express,desigo insight).

    After restarting the computer, when i opened project wizard its showing me the following error,
    Unhandled exception has occurred in your application.
    Retrieving the COM class factory for component with CLSID {F122002E-4618-BE8B-1DFFB216D5EB} failed due to the following error: 80040154.

    In details its written,

    When JIT debugging is enabled, any unhandled exception will be sent to the JIT debugger registered on the comoputer rather than be handled by this dialog box.

    Moreover, i have installed genuine windows 7 (Internet explorer V8.0.7601)
    3 times one after the another after formating , the same error again and again. Can anybody help me over this matter.
    Thanks in advance.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Float'N Vally, MS
    Posts
    2,274
    Post Likes
    Quote Originally Posted by dingman View Post
    Who's PC is it anyway? Is the PC on a domain? I highly doubt Siemens is the only admin account on the machine.

    Just get the IT guy to change the password to the Siemens account if you don't know how. No hacking needed (I doubt the county would want a contractor hacking the admin account on one of their PC's! LOL)

    Done.
    This would give him admin rights to the computer....
    Will this give him admin rights to Apogee? If this is what he wants?
    Life is too short, Behappy!
    TFMM

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    258
    Post Likes
    Quote Originally Posted by behappy View Post
    This would give him admin rights to the computer....
    Will this give him admin rights to Apogee? If this is what he wants?
    Admin rights to Insight is done using user accounts in Insight, Ding is referring to the PC

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor MagazineThe place where Electrical professionals meet.
Comfortech 365