Results 1 to 11 of 11
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    386

    Intermittent open liquid sensor

    I have come across an intermittent open sensor alarm used on liquid level sensors for hussmann protocols. Not sure the make of the sensor off hand. I heard when the liquid stacks up to full or goes down to zero these sensors can just go into short sensor or open sensor scenerio.

    Ofcourse every time i'm there and graph it its reading and the graph history is normal. But doesn't the graphs log after every 3 min intervals, so if something would spike for a spilt few seconds it would not show on the graph anyways? ya know what i'm trying to say i hope.

    kinda lost right now or just to damn burned out to think

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Western PA
    Posts
    25,411
    I've had a few of the dials fail and do that.

    If you've got an E2, you can also tweak the minimum and maximum voltages before it gives an alarm.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    386
    It is hooked up to a E2. I guess that's in the setup where you can adjust voltages? So this could solve the intermittent sensor fail alarm?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Western PA
    Posts
    25,411
    Quote Originally Posted by -frozen-ocean-
    It is hooked up to a E2. I guess that's in the setup where you can adjust voltages? So this could solve the intermittent sensor fail alarm?
    Yes.

    It is under the input setup.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    California
    Posts
    2,064
    Quote Originally Posted by jpsmith1cm View Post
    I've had a few of the dials fail and do that.

    If you've got an E2, you can also tweak the minimum and maximum voltages before it gives an alarm.


    I do this to all liquid level sensors. dial type or rod's.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    California
    Posts
    2,064
    This should assist you

    I also like to change Sensor type to Linear with PCT engineering units and Sensor units as V.

    It seems to track better than when set as "liquid level" or "refrig level"
    Attached Images Attached Images

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    153
    Good stuff!

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Southern California
    Posts
    583
    Quote Originally Posted by jpsmith1cm View Post
    I've had a few of the dials fail and do that.

    If you've got an E2, you can also tweak the minimum and maximum voltages before it gives an alarm.
    I've had a similar problem at a store. The min and max voltages were changed in the setup and the problems disappeared.
    Knowledge is knowing that a tomato is a fruit. Wisdom is knowing not to put it in a fruit salad.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    California
    Posts
    2,064
    other things to check too

    make sure it is wired correctly.

    make sure the input dip-switch is in the correct position.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    386
    Thanks for the info :-)

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    In a Mess
    Posts
    1,001
    this one is often overlooked in startups!
    Sig removed by mod. G-Rated site

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event